Cornell University Library
3 1924 023 141 371
OLIN LIBRARY -CIRCULATION
The original of tliis book is in
tlie Cornell University Library.
There are no known copyright restrictions in
the United States on the use of the text.
THE HALL MARK
Obtainable from all Dealers. •
The CELLAR BOOK SHOP
Box 6, College Park Sta.
WEARNE BROTHERS, LTD.
(Incorporated in the Straits Settlements,)
MOTOR ENGINEERS AND IIVUPORTERS
Rodger Street, Kuala Lumpur.
SOLE AGENTS: in S. S. and F. M. S.
for the following: —
Sunbeam, Standard, Morris-Oxford, Bean,
Angus Sanderson, Studebaker, Hudson, Essex,
FORD, and Dennis Commercial Vehicles.
Auto Gloss, Radiator Cement, Metal Polish,
Nick-e-lo, Jet Lac, etc.
Motor Accessories & Spare Parts always in Stock-
"Uelefshone No. 295. Telegraphic Address. "Wearne" K. L.
SINGAPORE, KUALA LUMPUR,. IPOH, £ PENANG.
WHAT TO DRINK!
JN THE TROPICAL EAST, where " a man can
raise a thirst " without effort or intention, the
question of WHAT TO DRINK is one of vital
Messrs. ERASER and NEAVE, Ltd., have had
over 25 years continuous experience in the manu-
facture of AERATED WATERS, and can claim to
be the only firm whose products are UNRIVALLED
and acknowledged to be the BEST THROUGHOUT
FRASER & NEAVE, Ltd.
The Kwong Yik (Selangor) Banking Corporation, Ltd.
(Incorporated in Selangor.)
Telephone. No. 308. — Code A.B.C. 5th Edition.
BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
Chairman — Cheong Yeok Choy.
Leong Yan Tuck
Liew Weng Chee
Chew Kam Chuan
San Ah Wing J. P.
Yun Tin Cheng
Cheong Yok Chong.
A^ 29, Old Market Square, Cr
^^ irilAI A LUMPUR. -^
TCI CPH0NE,189. codes U^ed;
I LLlgrAM, " KINGCHONG ". A. b. c. 5th Ed.
THE LARGEST AND THE BEST.
The only Hotel in the Straits with a Ball Room.
E. & O. HOTEL
A seaside health resort with every Home Comfort.
E. & O. ORCHESTRA.
A comfortable Hotel opened recently.
a la Carte and Table d'hote.
THE STRAND HOTEL
THE PREMIER HOTEL IN BURMAH.
RAFFLES Singapore PrODvietOrS
GROSVENOR - Singapore rruprieiors.
SARKIES - Penang
SARKICSIAN .'- Rangoon
M. S. ALLY & Co.
IMPORTERS OF STATE EXPRESS CIGARETTES.
Head Office : No. 2, Battery Road, Sin£:apore. Tel. No. 891.
No. 105s High street, Kuala Lumpur-
WHOLESALE AND PROVISIONS,
RETAIL HIGH CLASS
DEALERS IN . , . PERFUMERY,
Cigars;— HAVANA, ^^ ^^ ^^ TOILET
HOLLAND, MANILA P^ L^ L^ REQUISITIES,
AND BURMA. % J a J» M PATENT
Cigarettes:- EGYPT- ^^ ^^ ^^ MEDICINES,
IAN AND VIRGINIA STATIONERY,
ENGLISH TOBACCO ETC., ETC.
General Merchants, Commission Agents,
Importers and Exporters.
RASSOOLBHOY ALLIBHOY J. P.
The Oldest Indian Merchant in F.M.S.
Dealer in all kinds of piece goods, silks, silk stockings,
ribbons, laces, embroideries, etc., etc.
TOO NUMEROUS TO MENTION.
6, Mc Arthur Street,
Agent For :-
The Eastern Shipping Coy., Ltd.,
of Penang with Steamer saiHngs
to all parts in Malay Peninsula
and Sumatra ports.
FRED WATERHOUSE Coy., Ltd.,
SINGAPORE and NEW YORK.
All grades of rubber purchased
RUNNYMEDE HOTEL, LIMITED.
(Incorporated in Straits Settlements.)
The most comfortable Hotel in Penang
Situated on the Sea Front
Accommodation, Service and Table Excellent.
Special rate for visitors having bed and breakfast.
Dancing every Saturday Night.
Music every night by first class Orchestra.
FEDERAL RUBBER STAMP CO.,
KUALA LUMPUR, IPOH & PENANG.
Owners pf all Railway Book Stalls in Malaya.
Largest Book-Sellers and Stationers.
English and American periodicals and
Magazines received regularly.
Malaya-Borneo Exhibition Stand No. 10
BY SPECIAL APPOINTMENTS
H.M. THE KING OF H.R.H. THE DUKE OF GONNAUGHT HiH. THE SULTAN OF
SIAM. ^„^^ JOHORE.
SEND YOUR ORDER
THE WORLD REPUTED
IF YOU DESIRE A WORTHY
ARTICLE AT A
B. P. DE SILVA
MANUFACTURING JEWELLER & DIAMOND MERCHANT.
No 1, Bishop St. 62/3, High St.
Station Street. Near Police Offices.
Only Studio under European Management.
(Opposite Perleral Dispensary.)
Rooms and Board
$6 per day.
Room only from
$2 per day.
terms for Board
Luncheon, dinner and
tea parties catered for.
Lounge Bar open till
Best of wines and
Engineers and Contractors, Iron
and Brass Founders, and
Rubber and Mining Machinery and
Reinforced Concrete Drains and Culverts.
Estimates and Designs
Free on Application.
Head Office .... KUALA LUMPUR
(KUALA LUMPUR Nos. 186, f87
Telephones: |^^^^^ ^^ ^^
Telegraphic Addpess : '- FEDERATED".
A. G. HARPER & Co, Ltd.
(Incorporated in the F.M.S.)
SPECIAL SCOTCH WHISKY
THE POPULAR WHISKY
Obtainable from all first class dealers.
A. C. HARPER & Co., Ltd.
What's in a name ? EVERYTHING !
So says they all. Then
Why not patronise AKBAR & Co's
PRACTICAL STORES & GARAGE?
All best quality materials only supplied
at the very
LOWEST POSSIBLE PRICES
to numerous respectable Customers,
MOTORISTS & MOTOR CYCLISTS.
FAIR and SQUARE dealings
Commission and illegal rebates to Syces and
Chauffeurs on repairs or supplies, strictly declined.
Absolute SATISFACTION given for CASH PAID.
AKBAR & CO.,
29, & 31, Klyne Street.
Messrs. POHOOMULL BROTHERS,
Famous Shop of silk & curios in F.M.S.
Branches all over the world.
53, 55, AMPANG STREET.
CHARLES GRENIER & Son, Ltd.
(Incorporate in the F.M.S.)
Stationers, Printers and Book-binders,
Malaya's Premier Printing House.
Old Market Square,
Station Street, KLANG.
THE TOWN DISPENSARY.
150, High Street,
Telephone No. 492.
F. M. S.
Prescriptions dispensed at all hours of the day
and night. The best, purest, and most reliable
drugs are used, supplied by world-fam^d chemists
and druggists of Europe and America. Specific
diseases receive skilful and prompt attention.
Special preparations of medicine for topical
diseases are made by American chemists to our
order, arid are kept for sale.
Consulting Surgeon and Physician :—
Dr. E. T. MACINTYRE, J. P. M. D. (Dunelm)
D. T. M. (Lond) L. R. C. P. & S. (Edin.)
L. R. F. P. & S. (Glas.) L. M. & S. (Ceylon.)
Physician and Ophthalmic Surgeon:—
Dr. YEOH HONE SOO, M. B. B. S. (H. K.)
Hours of Consultation.
8 a. m. to 12 Noon
2 p. m. to 5 p. m.
Urgent cases will be attended to at any time.
LI LOKE CHOW,
^HCanager Town Dispensary.
Telegrams " KYLPA " Partners
Codes BENTLEVS EDWARD P. KYLE
KENDALL'S FREDERICK W. PALMER.
P. O. Box 186.
KYLE, PALMER & CO.,
5/7, Foch Avenue,
WATER & STEAM PIPING,
Importers and Retailers of all requisites
for Mines, Estates, Etc. Etc.
Manufacturers of Concrete Rollers, Drains,
Tiles, Channels, Etc.
2 - X
The publication of these reminiscences synciironise with the
visit to Selangor of His Eoyal Highness " The PrInce Of Wales": —
The writer feels that no more stiitable frontispiece could
introduce the reader to its pages than the photograph of our future
The idea of this publication was suggested to the author as a
suitable companion to " Bygone Perak " which was so kindly
received by many past and present residents of Malaya — although
one feels that the pioneer days form the most interesting subject of
reminiscence, he does not feel up to the task, and is content to
recall only what is within his memory not earlier than the nineties,
the period within which the development of Selangor and the allied
States began to make giant strides —
. ■■JiiX^Mv ■ "RIMBA."
Kuala Lompdr, ' ' /*
2eth March, 1922.
H. R. H. The Prince of Wales, K.G., M.c.
By " Rimba "
His Highness Sultan Abdul Samad Son of Raja Abdullah,
who in later years was made a K. C. M. G., was the first real ruler
of ihe State after British protection, lie was a fine old man and
succeeded his uncle Sultan Muharned, the father of Raja Laut who
is well known throughout the Native States. Sultan Abdul Samad
was of Bugis descent from the Celebes, and was a good old man,
but very conservative and reserved.
He always resided at Jugra, was very attached to the place
and seldom left it, except to come into Kuala Lumpur to see the
Resident once or twice and attend to business. He was however
present at one garden party given at the Residency, making
himself congenial all round. The Sultan was a close personal
friend of Sir dementi Smitii during his twelve years tenure of
office as Higli Oommissoner, and went out of his way at all times
to show his appreciation of that high minded administrator. Both
men understood each other, though from West and East, the
keynote of successful British Colonization was sounded ; and in
the year 1922 we behold the result by enormous development in
the land in every direction.
Abdul Samad reigned for close on forty years, and lived to
see the federation of Perak, Selangor, Negri Semhilan and Pahang.
He travelled to Kuala Kangsar in 1897, though then a very old
man, to attend the first great durbar when for the first time in
local history the rulers of all the four States met ; with their
British Advisers in Council, for their mutual welfare. At Jugra
the aged Sultan had a unique collection of gold jewellery and other
ornaments, weighing it is believed over a quarter of a ton. When
the subject of curios of Malay craftsmanship caTue up, he WQuId
( 2 )
send for his treasures, explaining their uses and origin. A legend
hangs round Jugra hill of a Ranee who did her husband to death,
and goes about escorted by a tiger ; also many ghosts are said to
haunt this hill. In the Jugra river itself musical fish were said to
exist, they are known to inhabit inland tropical waters though
little is known of them. There is also in local river creeks a small
iish whose peculiarity is that it can spout a column of water two or
three feet high ; in this way it catches and feeds on insects found on
low branches overhanging the river bank. The heir apparent, or
Raja Muda, was Raja Suleiman son of Raja Musa, and grandson of
Sultan Abdul Sa'niad. Succession to the throne is said to rest
solely with the Protectorate Government, who it, is said almost
invariably obtain the advice of the higher native chiefs in the
matter, and study the welfare of the State as a whole. Raja
Suleiman is the present Sultan of Selangor, he does not reside at
Jugra but at Klang, where a fine palace has been built for him in
comparatively recent years out of the State revenue. What a
contrast, picture the two palaces (" Astana") would make side by
side, the ancient and the modern, but it is doubtful if it is possible
to obtain a photograph of the former.
Sultan Suleiman's first yfife was a prepossessing and hand-
some woman in her day, but he has survived her. Later he
married into the Perak Royal House for the second time, so that
the best relations exist between the two important States of the
federation. The Sultan's Private Secretary for years has been
Inche Abdul Razak, recently made a Datoh, who for some years
assisted as Magistrate at Klang. He is a self-made-man who
ingratiated himself into the favor of his Royal Master, but he is
advancing in age now.
Mr. Frank A. Swettenham was permanent Adviser to the
Sultan from 1882 to 1889 till be went to Perak in the same
capacity. Administrators of his type are rare. He became first
Resident-General when the four States were federated on his
initiative, and received a Knight-hood for his great services to the
( 3 )
Empire. Swettenham later became Governor of British Malaya,
thus crowning his fame, and after retirement produced from his
pen the two great volumes known as " British Malaya ", which the
London " Times " considered " a masterpiece." During the visit
of H. M. S. " Malaya " in 1921 (our dreadnought) this great
man's statue was erected in the city of Kuala Lumpur amidst
profound respect and admiration. It is almost unique for a statue
to be erected during a man's life. During the great war he did
wonderful work at home as Press Censor, for which he was created
a Companion of Honour. He has given us two of his nephews
bearing his name, one being the Colonel in the department of
Public Works, and the other head of the Opium Monopolies. Sir
Prank was a very keen sportsman. He played good cricket and
polo, and a typical picture of him is the one that appeared in the
" Straits Times " years ago ; wearing his famous large cowboy
shaped hat with a high crown, in shirt, riding breeches and top
boots, polo stick in hand. He was n fine Malay Scholar and gave
us a valuable dictionary — As an author he wrote several delight-
ful books connected with Malaya.
W. E. Maxwell, C. M. G. held the substantive appointment
from 1889 to 1893, though he was away officiating in higher
positions in Perak and the Colony. He was a great administrator
and a leading authority in the Malay language, on which he wrote
more than a grammar and a dictionary. A fair and just man, who
was more admired than popular, deeply interested in the Malays of
the country, he was also a keen sportsman and lover of horses.
W. H. Treacher succeeded W. B. Maxwell as Resident and
later became Resident-General, when he was knighted, retiring
after a few years.
J. P. Rodger was the next Resident, acting from 1884 to
1888 and again from 1896 to 1901, he was very popular as were
also his wife and daughter. He was a well to do man, subscribed
liberally to everything, and entertained lavishly. He was an all
round sportsman and excelled in tennis and billiards. At times
he was rather sarcastic, and there is an excellent story (probably
( 4 )
untrue) that went the rounds of him and a young cadet who had
been invited to dinner for the first time after arrival out here.
When dinner and liqueurs were over the men adjourned to the
billiard and card rooms, Rodger said to the budding empire builder
„ do you play bridge "7 " No, Sir," was the reply. " Do you
play billiards ".' "No, Sir, was again the reply. " Have you got
a rickshaw "? " Yes, Sir ". " Well," " good night ". Eodger
could do most things himself, and expected others also to be able
to do so, but he was really a very sympathetic man. Rodger
afterwards went to Perak and from there was promoted to be
Governor of the Gold Coast, retiring some years back. Alas both
Treacher and Rodger have joined the great majority. In those
days British Residents were appointed by notification in the
London Gazette, but it is not known if the practice is still
Prior to federation in 1895, and the appointment of a
Resident-General each British Resident dealt direct with the
Governor at Singapore. Sir Clementi Smith presided over the de-
stinies of British Malaya, during a prolonged tenure of twelve years
of strenuous work; when the effects of our rule were most likely to be
felt in their relative to the turbulent characters then in the country.
Cai't. H. L. Talbot was his A. D. 0. and Mr. Burra, Private
Secretary. The former married a daughter of Sir Clementi Smith
and Mrs. Talbot lived in Kuala Lumpur for many years, when
her husband was Commissioner of Police, Capt. Talbot was
previously Second-in-Command of the Malay States Guides, a
regiment tliat was disbanded at Aden after the war, and he will
be remembered as a keen supporter of the turf, entering one of his
horses, "Essington" which was always entered as belonging to the
" Bridge Kongsee," said to have been comprised of Talbot, Voules
Whitley and another.
Sir Charles Mitchell, who was a naval man, succeeded Sir
Clementi Smith and carried on to the welfare of the country for
many years, eventually dying in Singapore : much regretted by all
( 5 )
who had at all known him. He had as A. D. 0. Capt. Herbert
and as Private Secretary Claud Severn.
Sir William Maxwell, who was then Colonial Secretary,
officiated as Governor during Clementi Smith's absence on furlough
and his name is closely linked with the early progress of the native
States. He was promoted as Governor of the Gold Coast and
left with Lady Maxwell to the great regret of their many friends.
However he has left two sons in our Civil Service, one being
George, the present Chief Secretary, and the other Charleton, a
Senior District Officer. Eric of conrse is the Senior Partner in
the legal firm of Maxwell and Kenion and retired over ten years
ago. We recollect that Sir William recruited Chinese Mining
Coolies for the Goldcoast which were taken over from here by his
Claud Severn was then Private Secretary to Sir Charles
Mitchell, and after joining as a Junior Officer continued almost
without interruption as Secretary to succeeding High Com-
missiiiners. For his unique services to Sir John Anderson, at
one time Governor of British Malaya who shortly after became
Permanent Under Secretary for the Colonies; he was made
Colonial Secretary, Hongkong, probably much to his own surprise.
Severn was always a Society favourite, a good musician and
Amateur Actor. He married in recent years.
Before the federation of the F. M. S. in 1895, Residents
dealt direct with the High Commissioner; but after a Resident-
General was appointed, in the person of Sir Frank Swettenham,
they could not address His Excellency direct.
The title Resident-General was for some mysterious reason
altered to that of Chief Secretary, but steps are being taken in the
Federal Council to revert to the old designation. What's in a
name, but the idea is that the Chief Secretary has less power than
he would have as Resident-General, and the treaty did not contain
a Chief Secretary.
( 6 )
The High Commissioner had a Secretary in Singapore for the
Federated and Unfederated , Native States, but the appointment
for the former has been abolished. No one in Malaya is ever
surprised at official changes, in procedure and everything else.
The Chief Secretary now addresses the High Commissioner
direct on those funny little (and big) bundles of foolscap known as
Minute Papers, It is said that when officials are rather fogged
over a question raised by the mercantile, mining or planting
communitj they acknowledge receipt of the original letter, and
then on their own paper write the mystic letters " K. I. V"; which
being interpreted by those in the know are said to mean "Keep
in View". How simple, short and nice, but it is rumoured that in
this way not a few important documents sometimes go astray, by
being kept indefinitely in view. They are very appropriate letters
for use on tradesmen's bills, but all attempts to discover the
originator have failed, though the concensus of opinion is that it
resulted from soine huge joke.
Sip Frank Swettenham G.C.M.G., CH.
( 7 )
Our aborigines, the "Sakais'', were naturally far greatly in
evidence in the interior of the Ulu districts, whereas now a. days
many Europeans who have been some years in the native States
have nnt had the opportunity of even seeing one. There were also
the '.'sea" sakais who lived on our coasts, but they have almost
disappeared. "Sakais" planted paddy and a kind of millet on
the hills after felling and burning virgin forests, doubtless a very
destructive proceeding ; though the rubber planter of today
wastes as much wood as the worst of our wild tribes. They bartered
wild rubber, such as "Singgrit", "Susu", Merah", for red cloth,
beads, tobacco, and opium etc.
"Getah Taban", is gutta percha, which is very valuable, is
used a good deal after preparation for cables owing to its water
resisting properties. These " Sakais " planted groves of fruit
trees in their Jungle clearings, among which the "durian" generally
predominated. Of recent years the Government lias reserved
these small patches to them when granting lands or making large
areas into forest reserves. These queer people were to be seen at
their best during the feasts that followed the reaping of the paddy
harvest. Then they drank the liquor they brewed, danced to their
war cries, and on this auspicious occasion exchanged wives, if they
At the celebrations in connection with the diamond jubilee of
Queen Victoria, a few of the less timid "Sakais" were induced to
attend. At the sports a special flat race was entered solely for
them of a couple of hundred yards, before which they had witnessed
many similar events. However, before they started and were with
difficulty lined up, the object of reaching the other end as quickly
as possible was fully explained to their headmen, who knew a
little Malay. But thft race was the funniest I have ever had the
pleasure of witnessing. They did everything but run, walking,
crouching along as though to avoid obstacles in the jungle,
.( 8 )
going zig-zag, leaping, standing and talking, and even taking
oat tobacco from their slender loin cloths to chew. I recollect
them as being very afraid of a P.W.D. Steam road roller,
which they evidently saw for the first time on one of our main
arteries in the interior ; but the advent of the motor car has
probably set them thinking, as they seem to remain in their
distant hills. Mr. W. W. Skeat, the District Officer, knew more
about our aborigines than anyone else, audit is fortunate th^ before
he retired at an early age he wrote a good deal about them. In cue
of his books it is believed he collaborated with Dr. Annandale,
who visited these States extensively, and who was recently Curator,
of the Calcutta Museum.
Under this category onr earliest chief was Tungku Dia Udin,
who was known as Viceroy of Selangor, even towards the early
seventies, when the British made their appearance as Protectionists.
In this position he naturally came into contact with the then
Governors of Malaya for the time being, and there is no doubt
that he played his cards with great diplomacy. He so completed
ingratiated himself into the favour of Sir Clementi Smith, that
even that administrator of wide experience backed Tungku Dia
Udin, when addressing the Secretary of State for the Colonies on
matters vital to the State. It is said that the Governor was not
only prepared to propose this Raja as First Sultan of Perak, he
actually did so, but it was ruled otherwise. History has however
proved that the choice of Perak for its first Sultan after British
protection was unfortunate to say the least of it. It is easy to be
wise after the event. But whether Tungku Dia Udin, would
have proved faithful to the Raj is merely a matter for conjecture,
but his past actions were against him.
Another restless character was Syed Mashor of Kerling
a half Arab, who hailed from Pontianak. Another was Raja
Mahmud who was then living at Semenyih in exile from his
native land across the waters of the Straits of Malacca. He was
Penghulu of the Miikim and later got the same position in
Kuala Lumpur. It appears that he was already in Selangor when
( 9 )
Sultan Mohamed reigned, bnt was banished by him. Subsequently
intercession on his behalf took place and he was pardoned for ■• his
wrongs, great and small, and allowed to re-settle in the State. The
appearance of the British here was really due to the intercession of
the Chinese Mining and Trading then, who asked for protection
against these two and other Malay Notorieties.
These turbulent characters knowing that they were marked
men by the British Authorities fled from Selangor to the State
of Perak northwards. However when they were there they had the
good fortune to help us in some local disturbances ; a chance of
which they were only, too glad, knowing that they could no longer
carry on as they had done in the past. For these services the
Secretary of State for the Colonies sent out four or five presentation
swords of honour, which however a wise and far seeing Resident
never actually handed over. It would be interesting to know what
became of these swords of honour as one would be very acceptable
to the Museum.
It needed a strong man to go against the wishes of the Chief
Colonial Authority but the British Resident said that he did not
concur with the recommendations of his predecessor in oiBce, to
the extent of giving away swords of honour to men of doubtful
Haji Mohamed Tahir of Klang, better known as the " Dato ''
" Dagang," was a great agriculturist and set a splendid example to
the " raiats," particularly with regard to coffee planting in the
kampongs. Men of his type are fast getting scarce in a country,
where only a few would be a. blessing in disguise. Other well
known names were those of Raja Drahaman (Penghulu of Labu),
Raja Manan of Sepang, Raja Mon of Morib, and last bnt not
least, Raja Usoff.
Raja Laut son of Sultan Muhamed, Raja Bot, and Tamby
Abdullah were always to the front in matters of State progress and
staunch supporters of education.
Raja Laut was a brother of Raja Mahmud of Semenyih and
was made Raja Mnda, hut died. He owned the big garden in
( 10 )
K«ala Lumpur opposite the new railway yard and below the
European Hospital. He was of a retiring disposition and was
seldom heard of, and quite unlike his brother in every respect.
The last naiped was a Mohamedan Tamil who in later years
was trustee of the estates of the well known Dorasamy PiUay, a
Member of the Board of Sanitation ; and we have a road named
after him in the capital. It is worthy of note that more often
than not these Malay Chiefs fell in with the wishes of the Chinese
" Towkays " then in the country, bnt the reason was good as it
paid them to do so, and easily obtain money and kind. Selangor
unlike Perak, does not appear to have a great array of Native
Chiefs, such as the " Orang Besar " " Lapan " (eight big men)
and the " Orang Besar Anamblas " (sixteen big men), though
they seem more than enough on all ceremonial occasions.
Douglas Campbell joined the service as a Surveyor and in
ten years rose to the position of 'Senior District Officer, Klang
He married, bnt had the misfortune to lose his wife, who was very
popular. He acted Eesident of the State, and about that time
married the only daughter of C. E. Spooner, c.m.g.. General
Manager of Railways, but he died quite recently when Adviser to
the Sultan of Johore, deeply regretted, and his widow returned to
the old country. His brother J. A. G. Campbell was in the Civil
Service, and was also District Officer of Klang, but died out here
A. T. D. Berrington was Chief Magistrate, and later went to
Perak in the same capacity, retiring about 1900 and settling down
in Tasmania. He was a very good billiard player and went " West ''
but many years ago. He was a Deputy Lieutenant for his country,
and married one of the Miss Rathborne's, noted for their beauty.
R. G. Watson (Watty) took over this appointment, and was
the life of the Club, playing cricket and football, and the soul
of amateur theatricals, excelling with his comic local skits. He
retired as Resident of Perak owing to the age limit, and to the
great regret of his many friends was very ill when he left ; a doctor
( 11 )
and a nurse had to accompany him home, and he is said to have
been staying at Bexhill-on-Sea, which so many old residents of the
F.M.S. seem to have chosen for their haven of rest at home.
G. C. Bellamy was a District Officer when he retired in 1895,
owing to a railway accident on the line near Klang, when he under-
went an operation at home; but is drawing his small pension today.
John Russell was Superintendent of the Printing Establish-
ment and a fine specimen of a man in physique and character.
His sons we believe are all out here, except George Deary who
took up work at home after being Manager of the Federated
Engineering Co., in Kuala Lumpur. They have avoided the
Government Service, but hold excellent positions outside in this
part of the world, one being head of the well known firm of
J, A. Russell & Co., which he founded ; and it is he that is the Chinese
Scholar, speaking several dialects of that difficult language.
Mr. and Mrs. Russell and family came out here and the younger
boys went to school at the Victoria Institution but finished their
education at home, and theirs is a very fine record indeed.
P. C. Russell has just passed away after an operation, when recuper-
ating in Australia leavirlga widow and a host of real friends behind.
Mrs. John Russell died in Singapore as the result of a carriage
accident, deeply regretted by all.
J. R. 0. Aldworth was an Assistant District Officer, and
was as keen on horses as when he retired about a year or two ago
as Resident of the Negri Sembilan. He was for sometime Under
Secretary to Government, and had been head of the Customs as
well as the Department of Labour. Mrs. Aldworth was an
accomplished woman and an artist of no mean merit, she always
exhibited at our local shows, and almost all the pictures in the
guide to the F. M. S. by P. W. Harrison are from her brush.
Aldworth did a great deal in recent years to resusitate an
interest in the game of polo, and always had 2 or 3 good ponies
in his stables. With the advent of the Motor Car polo has
become an expensive pastime, as the ponies cannot he put into
shafts if they have any spirit at all in them.
r 12 )
H. Conway Belfield was Commissioner of Lands and Mines,
later acted as Resident and in 1918 was knighted and made
Governor of British East Africa, but has since retired. He was
made Permanent Resident of Perak and was a very able adminis-
trator, having officiated as Resident-General as well. He hailed
from Devon, where is a J. P., was a very keen angler, and said
that if the upper reaches of the Perak River were in England they
would be worth a fine yearly income from fishing rights alone, —
L. P. Ebdeu came here in 1886, but will be remembered as a very
able officer on Lind matters. Towards the close of 1893 he married
Miss Niven, sister to Mrs. E. W. Birch, in Taiping, and she
proved a great social favourite ; being well to the fore in every-
thing. Ebden was Senior Magistrate for all the States, except
Pahaiig, and was subsequently Legal Adviser for about three years.
He was later made a Judicial Commissioner and finally retired as a
Puisne Judge of the Colony, He was of a retiring disposition and
was not partial to the usual round of social functions, dinner and
bridge parties and the rest, but his wife entertained largely. He
was an authority on land matters, and enlivened the Supreme
Court with his dry humour.
J. Welford was Chief Surveyor and when he was away
G. M. Stafford acted for him, his brother L. U. Stafford was a
licensed Surveyor, and is now Superintendent of Surveys, Perak.
H. G. B. Vane, who retired in 1915 as Treasurer for the
P. M. S., was known to his many friends as " Woolly". He was a
good tennis player and in recent years did yeoman service as
Hony. Secretary of the Lake Club. He went to Perak after the
Federation and Mrs. Vane died at home shortly after, but after a
good many years he married again. Welman then was Secretaiy
to Government but kept very poor health, he retired after only a
few years and was succeeded by Gerald Brown from Ceylon ; whose
many sterling qualities endeared him to many.
( 13 )
F. E. Lawder was District Officer of Kajang but had
continued in bad health and went on pension in 1895. He was a
thorough English squire, fond of agriculture and farming, parti-
cularly cattle breeding ; and his wife was also much liked.
J. H. M. Robson who is now a Member of the Federal
Council was in tlie regular Civil Service and will be best
remembered as Collector of Land Revenue, Kuala Lumpur ; and
compiler of the laws of the State fjoni 1877 to 1895. He resigned
in 1896, and at the end of the same year started tlie " Malay Mail",
of which he was Managing Editor, and had as liis Assistant
L. A. Coutier Biggs the present Secretary of the Penang Munici-
pality, and a son of the late Colonial Chaplain. Robson held the
late Towkay Loke Yew's Power of Attorney for many years.
Gossip says that this gentleman makes more short trips home and
back than anyone else. Recently he was married in the Federal
Capital to the widow of the late Capt. Syers, first Commissioner of
Police, F. M. S. and they are both out here just now. An ardent
motorist, he is said to have owned over twenty cars during his sojurn
in the far east.
Charleton Maxwell was Private Secretary to his father, the
Acting Governor, before becoming a. Junior Officer. During the
Pabang disturbances he sent many hundreds of transport coolies from
Kuala Kubu for the punitive operations. He went to the Boer
War from here and holds the Queen's Medal and five clasps. He is
a great authority on matters piscatorial, is an exceptionally able
and outspoken officer, and is at the moment District Officer of
Klang ; but the concensus of opinion is that his talents are being
wasted in mere charge of a district. He would make an admirable
Resident for any of the four States.
Oswald F. Stonor, our present Resident, was an Assistant
District Officer, his brother was a proprietory Planter, and both
were well known in the Kuala JiUmpur District.
There is, I think, no name so intimately connected with early
Selangor (bar one or two) than that of A. R. Venning who was
( 14 )
Treasurer for years : and who was practically on every Committee
formed in those days. He was a grand old man and a fine
exponent of billiards, and his name will be referred to more than
once later on in these columns. He retired in 1907 as Federal
Secretary and left for the old country to the general regret of all
who had ever met him. The loss of his eldest son, who was a
Lieutenant in the Artillery and was killed in the Boer War,
greatly saddened his life. He practically made the Kuala Lumpur
gardens and the Sydney Lake which was named after Lady
Sir William Maxwell planted a tree on the banks of this
lake, and the other day Monsieur Clemenceau, " The Tiger of
France," planted by proxy another tree in the Federal Capital at
the junction of Venning Eoad with Daraansara Road. It is
hoped that suitable tablets will be put up alongside these trees to
enable the public to remember them.
Tiie first Capitan China was Yap Ah Loi appointed by the
Sultan with the advice of the Resident and consent of the leading
Chinese " Towkays," amidst great rejoicings and Chinese proces-
sions bearing presents.
This " Capitan " had two sons who are well known and are
still among us-Yap Hon Chin, better known as " Bachee," and
Yap Loong Hin who married a daughter of Chew Ah Yeok-
For this event a sumptuous dinner was given to the European
Community, at which all the leading lights were present at the
famous gai'den house ; when Justice Lawrence Jackson q.c, our
first Judicial Commissioner, presided. " Bachee " for years
lived in the famous house on the solitary hill near the Petaling
Golf links and entertained lavishly, but he suffered a lot of bad
luck though he was said to be extravagant.
The next " Capitan China " was Yap Sheak, the father of
Yap Loong Hin, j.p. who is happily still with us and is much
respected by everyone. We recollect the unique occasion when
( 15 )
the British Resident, Mr. J. P. Kodger, c.m.g., gave a dinner at
the Residency in honour of this " Towkay " for his great help to
the Government, when all the heads of departments were present
with the lenders i>f all Communities. It is ruuioured that one of
the biggest civil cases may shortly come befoi« the law conrts in
connection with tiie wealth of Capitau Yap Sheak, should a
setlh-nient not be arrived at by the relatives concerned.
His other two sons are Yap Chin Fook and Yap Fatt Yaw
and he left also a daughter, now the widow of Towkay Slew
The next Capitan China was Yap Kwan Seng, who had his
own constabulary to maintain law and order since he had so much
at stake. His son Yap Tai Chee is in Kuala Lumpur and a
Member of the Chinese Advisory Board, but he has left many
other sons. Wee Hap Lung was Secretary to the late Capitan
China and is still keeping liis age very well. One of his sons
(Wee Koh Chee) was educated at the Redruth School of Mines,
while the other is studying the same profession in America, and
went to France and fought for the Stars and Stripes, which is
The head of the Hokkien Clan was Khu Mah Lok, who was
a Trustee of the recently started Victoria Institution, and
President of the first Chinese Club. Another leader of the same
clan was Low Boon Kim, the father of Low Leong Huat and
Low Leong Gan, m.c, and he owned a deal of property on the
Brickfields Road near the Chinese Roman Catholic Church.
H. C. Ridges was Protector of Chinese till 1911 when he
retired after a great deal of good work. It was he that first
unearthed the Gi Hin Secret Society, among the pepper and
gambler plantations on the borders of the Negri Sembilan State.
Towkay Loke Yew was then coming fast to the front in the
public eye, and was more than once lessee of the opium, spirit,
gambling, and pawn broking farms, from which he and the
( 16 )
Government both derived enormous revenue. Gambling was only
stopped about ten or twelve years ago publicly, but it has by no
means been stopped privately, and there are many opinions on
both sides of the question. Sir Frank Swettenham once said that
it was a question of our morals and other peoples money.
Loke Yew was the owner of numerous tin mines, and in later
years rubber estates, notably Hawthornden near the Federal
Capital ; and owned an enormous amount of landed property in
almost every part of Malaya. He had visited Europe himself and
had his children educated in Scotland, apparently appreciatidg the
many sterling qualities of local residents from North of the Tweed.
The " Towkay " was a great public benefactor even then, and in
recent years amassed a very large fortune and was a millionaire in
the correct sense of the word. He had European as well as
Chinese Advisers and for his munificence to Hongkong University
was created an L. L. D. — Sir Charles Elliott, the then Chancellor
of the University specially journeying here to confer the honour,
Towkay Loke Yew died but a, few years ago at a good old age
greatly respected and mourned by all classes of peoples, and there
were but few who did not know the great Towkay Loke Yew by
name even if they had not seen him.
The Straits born Chinese, known as " Babas," held their
first dinner in 1894 ; when Ong Chee Siew presided, and Low
Cheng Koon (Manager Chow Kit & Co.) was Secretary, "We
know how patriotic the Straits born Chinese have proved them-
selves, particularly during the great war, and to-day they have
companies of Volunteers drilling in every part of Malaya.
Loke Chow Kit -was head of the well known wholesale and
retail firm, with branches in Penang and Singapore and the head
office in Kuala Lumpur. He started as a Clerk in the railway but
resigned, worked for Towkay Loke Yew and lived mostly at
Serendah ; but in later years went on his own account and was
lessee of the general farm for about 2 years or so. A son and
daughter of his were educated in Scotland, and we remember Chow
Kit going to a fancy dress ball dressed (or undressed) as a Chetty,
( 17 )
in which costume he looked priceless, meagre as it is ; and he had
even shaved his head for the occasion. One of his partners in
Chow Kit & Co, was (and still is) Toh Seow Teng, who is still
among ns and much liked ; and they induced Khno Keng Hooi to
resign the Government and manage their firm, of wliich he is also
a partner to-day and besides a useful public man, being a member
of the Sanitary Board. Chow Kit died only a few years ago and
was a man of sterling character. His brother Chow Thye is still
mining, is of a retiring disposition but full of quiet humour.
Chew Boon Hean better known as " Abbu," managed some of the
mines belonging to the two brothers, was quite a character in his
own way, and is still hale and hearty.
We all remember Tan Kim Bee who was mining at Kanching
and Kiiala Kubu and was a generous man who dispensed
hospitality lavishly. He passed away but a few years ago. One
of his sons is Tang Seng Kim. Both Oug Chi Lin and Lim
Teow Chong were fond of entertaining Europeans, a daughter of
the latter married Foo Wha Cheng of the Federal Rubber Stamp
Company of Ipoh, who is a coming man of advanced views, and did
a great deal for the Chinese Mutual Provident Fund and the Fuel
Board in Perak
( 18 )
Well known Residents.
Dr. E. A. 0. Travels after a few months among us as
District Surgeon became the life and soul of Kuala Lumpur. He
was on every Committee, and was married in 1894, when
Mrs. Travers came out here. The Doctor retired in 1909 and
went in for private practice, when he attended the rich and poor
with equal attention, and very often did not charge the poor at all.
After retirement he was one of the trusted advisers of the late
Towkay Loks Yew, but retired to the old country before the great
war, from where he joined up in spite of his age.
He has always been a very strong supporter of the turf club
owning many fine horses. He came out again and is happily
still among us helping the Government in his profession, and it
speaks volumes for his ability and popularity when he has been
elected President of the huge Committees appointed for the
reception of the Prince of Wales in March 1922. Mrs. Travers
has gone home owing to continued fever, but we hope to see her
again and have not forgotten her fine acting and singing not
many years ago in " Carrotina". We also remember Dr. Travers
as an amateur actor when he was •' General Bombast " and
" Watty " was " Fusbos ", and Mrs. Travers and Mrs. Willes
Douglas also acted. Miss. Travers was also out here and was one
of the tallest and nicest young ladies we have seen. John Klyne,
after whom the street in Kuala Lumpur has been named, was
Superintendent of Public Works, retired and took to contracting in
1897. He went on pension owing to a carriage accident and was
later owner of almost all the land between Yap Kwan Seng,
Ampang and Circular roads. Almost all our legal fraternity now
have their offices in Klyne Street.
H. A. Koek, the well known Appraiser and Conveyancer, and
adviser to many well-to-do Chinese, came here about thirty years
ago. He keeps his age very well indeed, though his holidays have
been brief and few and far belweeii, He owns two fine bungalows
( 19 )
on the Ampang Eoad where he has lived for years and his office
has always been in Klyne Street. His wife and children have
spent a good deal of their time in England but have returned.
His only son is in Java going through an engineering training.
Captain F. W. Lyons was Chief Police Officer, after Captain
Syers, but left us to go to Hongkong, retiring in 1912. He was
the father of volunteering and the beginning then made was seen
in the Malay States Volunteer Rifles, who did yeoman service out
here, especially during the war and more so during the troubles in
Singapore; when the Native Regiment there mutinied owing to
German gold given by the interned prisoners. R. C. Edmonds
joined as a Junior Officer in 1894, rose quickly owing to his
legal talents and was made a Judicial Commissioner; but died
suddenly only a few years ago, after holding the assizes at
Malacca, in the prime of life.
A. K.E, Hampshire came out and joined H. Huttenbach
originally as an Assistant, but after some years started business
on his own account when his brother Dugan came out and joined
him. A. K. E. Hampshire & Co., had their premises just over
the big Market Street Bridge in the small shop houses that then
belonged to L. R. Yzelman, and carried on business as merchants.
They had a, branch at Port Swettenham for shipping and did a
large import and export trade. About 1910 this firm amalgamated
with Boustead & Co., of Singapore, and was then known as
Boustead Hampshire & Co. They are Agents for many rubber
estates and moved about 10 years ago to their present fine
premises on the embankment. A. K. E. Hampshire married a
daughter of Major Tranohell of Perak, and was made a member of
the Federal Council but has retired though we hope to see him
on periodical visits. Dugan Hampshire was also appointed a
Member of the Federal Council recently and both brothers are
much respected by all Communities. The latter is still a bachelor.
M. H. Whitley also joined as a Junior Officer and like Edmonds
was Deputy Public Prosecutor for some years. With Talbot and
Vbules he was owner of the " Bridge Kongsees " well known
riacer " Essington " that carried all before him in Malaya,' but
( 20 )
proved out of class with the best horses in lodia. Whitley is a
Supreme Court Judge now, is very popular and has yet five years to
go before the retiring age of fifty-five. He was a good cricketer
and fine bowler, and was for sometime a Judge in Johore.
Laurie Yzelraan was then working for Tambusamy Pillay
and obtained from him the sub-lease of a mine at Rawang, which
gave him excellent results ; and his brother Bertie was in the Public
Works Department and married Miss Grenier and only retired
on pension last year. Laurie Yzelman died in England from
pneumonia, but his body was brought out here and buried at
Venning Boad cemetery. His widow, who was the daughter of
John O'Hara, afterwards married Cowley Brown, M.B.E. of the
Singapore Secretariat. Laurie Yzelman gave a great impetus to
racing and was owner of the famous " Lady Joe," a grifiin that
stood almost in a class by herself.
W. Willes Douglas, the son of Capt. Douglas, British
Eesidentot Selangor, from 1875 to 1882, was then District OflScer
of Klang, but in 1897 became Deputy Commissioner of Police and
rose to be Commissioner, retiring in 1916. He was very keen on
racing, and Mrs. Douglas often drove a pair of horses but she did
not enjoy very good health out here. He kept a pack of thorough
bred hcunds which he hunted till the day he retired.
E. A, Dickson, son of the late Sir Fredrick Dickson, (one of
our Governors,) joined the service as a junior officer and is now a
District Officer of the first class. His mother Lady Dickson has
been spending a good deal of her time out here, where she is liked
immensely, and does not mind the climate in spite of her years.
Young Lott was a Settlement Officer who left the service
about 1913, and was a useful musician, accompanying at concerts
and playing the organ in the Churches. He died out here a while
From Malacca there was a steady flow of the descendants of
Portuguese who came along for clerkships in the Government
Service and outside. The pioneers among these settlers in the
( 21 )
State were G. A. Sta. Maria, F. L. Kozario and R. Goonting who
rose to be Special Class Clerks in the service. The two former
have retired and are the proud possessors of large families and
have grand children it is believed.
The richest Straits-born Chinese in the F.M.S. and possibly
in Malaya, is TowKay Eu Tong Sen, o.b.e., for nine years Chinese
Member of the Federal Council. Educated in China and here he
has converted his father's small fortune into a very large one
which is rapidly increasing while he is still in the prime of life.
He visited Europe in 1911, his eldest son has been in England for
ten years and graduated at Cambridge, but is now qualifying as a
Chartered A.ccountant. Eu Tong Sen has five sons and five
daughters, he gave a tank and ' an aeroplane for the great war,
together with other munificent donations to relief and other funds.
He subscribed very handsomely to the Hongkong University and
has been even more generous with Raffles College, Singapore.
This Chinese gentleman is the possessor of beautiful mansions in
all the important towns of Malaya (the one in Singapore is
superb), besides in Hongkong and Canton. These palaces so to
speak are sumptuously furnished, Messrs Hampton and Sons, Pall
Mall, supplying a good deal, while life size marble statues have
been obtained from Bigazzi of Florence. His Private Secretary,
Leung Kwong Hin, married his only sister in 1902. He has an
intimate knowledge of the country and has proved himself almost
indispensable to his brother-in-law.
Towkay San Ah Wing came to Kuala Lumpur from Hong-
kong as early as 1882 as a boy. He is the son of the late Towkay
San Ah Peng, a native of China who was the leading building
contractor up to 1898, and had put up many Government
buildings. San Ah Wing is President of the Confusian Schools,
a Member of the Chinese Advisory Board, and is Managing
Director of the Kwong Yik (Selangor) Banking Corporation ;
which takes up most of his time. He was made a Justice of the
Peace recently. He visited England in 1902 for the coronation
( 22 )
of the late King Edward the VII, is possessed of a jileasing and
coiiiteous manner and in consequence has friends among all
nationalities. His son San Kwok Sang is being educated in
England for a commeicial career.
Towkay Lee Kong Lam came here from China in 1895 and
was for many years attorney to the millionaire Towkay Loke Yew,
but gave up the hiciiUive posilion and went into business on his
own account. He was the proud possessor in 1899 of about the
first small motor car — a de Dion — that came out to Malaya. He
relates how he purchased half a dozen big bottles of petroleum for
this car from Singapore, but was unable to obtain any more as the
supply had run out ; in consequence the little car had to be laid
up for a long time till supplies arrived from Europe. Kong Lam
has been the trusted friend of the present Sultan Suleiman of the
State, and for his unique services to the ruler and his subjects he
was created a Datoh and raada a Justice of the Peace. He is a
Member of the State Council, the owner of tin mines and large
rubber and coconut estates, and lives in his p.ilatial residence on
Bukit Nanas where he has a fine collection of plants. He is
extiemely hospitable and aSable.
Towkay Cheong Yok Choy is said to be the present wealthiest
Chinese Resident of the Federal Capital, is" a Director of the
Kwong Yik Bank of Selangor, and « trustee of the estate of the
late Towkay Loke Yew. He is the owner of many town properties
tin mines and estates, but is of a very retiring disposition. His
piirsp is always open to philanthropic works, and he is today
supporting the " Pak Peng " Boys School entirely also the Girls
School at Pudu in conjunction with Towkay Liew Weng Chee.
Cheong Yok Choy always comes forward for any good cbuse, and
is indispensable to several Committees and Boards for the public
benefit, though he always hides his light under a bushel.
Towkay Choo Kia Peng was born in Perak where
his father had settled from China. He went to China
to learn the language and on his return was educated in
English at the Christian Brothers School in Penang, which he left
( 23 )
as the senior boy of his year. Shortly after he came here he
worked for Towkay Loke Yew and was for sometime in charge of liis
mining interests in the district of UIu Selangor. After parting
with' Loke Yew he started mining and planting for himself, has
prospered and owns a Tery fine house with spacious well laid out
grounds in Ampang Koad. He is very keen on gardening as a
hobby, and exhibited largely at our agricultural shows, winning
several prizes. Choo Kia Peng is a sportsman, a good rifle
shot, and a regular member of the Selangor Club. He has a
large family and has only been married once, hardly the rule with
most well to do Chinese gentlemen. He has been an enthusiastic
member of the Sanitary Board for years and always evinces
marked interest in all public matters. Recently he was made a
Member of the Federal Council in place of Towkay Eu Tong Sen,
and has already proved his usefulness, though he is by no means
advanced in years. He is a Justice of the Peace for the State_
Towkay Chan Sow Lin is one of our oldest residents and it is not
generally known that he rendered the Government assistance
against the Malays in the Perak war and was severely wounded.
He is a Justice of the Peace, has been a member of the State
Council for many years and retired only last year owing to
advancing age. He founded the Engineering and Foundry
Coy. known by his name, which had its workshops for some years
in Rodger Street, and latterly moved to Ampang Boad near the
junction of Campbell Road. For his long services to the State
Council it is considered that he should be granted a suitable piece
of land to retire on within a reasonable distance of the capital, as
he is not reputed to be a rich man.
Towkay Tong Takin, who is among us to-day, first came
into the public eye when he was confidential clerk and interpreter
to that great chinese scholar, Mr. G. T. Hare, our first Secretary
for Chinese Affairs after the federation. Tong Takin is well-to-
do and has many interests in the State, but is a careful man of
retiring disposition who has a large family.
( 24 )
The Harper Brothers were always to the front and were very
popular. Archie founded the present well known firm of A. C.
Harper & Co., retired about 1905, and is still hale and hearty at
home. Steve, who died at home as early as 1896, was Chief
Inspector, a general favourite and we remember him as the
" New Woman " at a fancy dress dance in the Selangor Club,
which has always been popularly known as " The Dog.'' A
Memorial Scholarship was founded at the Victoria Institution for
the poorer boys to perpetuate his memory, and he was known to
the natives as " Tuan Steeb." Alfred the other brother, was
Clerk of Courts and died about the same time as Steve.
The rules for Colonial Cadetships appeared in the Govern-
ment Gazette about this time, when the junior officer system by
patronage, and without any competitive examination, ceased. The
commencing salary was $125, and another $25 was added after
passing in language and law in about two years. The budding
Civil Servant did not start rich and it is only in recent years that
the salaries have been revised and considerably improved.
One first batch of Civil Servants were A. M. Pountney,
H. W, Thomson, and R. D. Acton, all still in the service and at
the top of the official ladder. Pountney was recently created a
Companion of the British Empire and made Financial Adviser for
the Colony and the F. M. S. from Treasurer, Straits Settlements
He is said to be a Wrangler and a Mathematician. Thompson
is British Adviser to the State of Kelantan, and Acton is Solicitor-
General, Penang, a position that is being abolished when he will
probably go to the bench. The old system produced some good
men and we have a tew left yet, but the present system is fairest to
all, and has proved conspicuously successful in India.
E. B. Stokoe joined the Public Works Department as a
young man and he used to sing at our concerts. He only retired
in 1920 as State Engineer of Selangor and possessed an agreeable
( 25 )
personality and was a strong supporter of " the Dog." He
invented Stokoeite drain pipes etc. aud must have received hand-
some royalties therefrom.
A. 8. Baxendale was Superintendent Posts and Telegraphs, one
of nature's gentlemen, but retired in 1896 owing to continued bad
health, A few years later he returned and formed the firm of
Baxendale and Dewitt, which subsequently was absorbed by the
Planters' Stores and Agency Oo, so well known in planting
circles in Northern India, particularly Assam. He did not stay
long but joined one of the cable companies at home and later the
Marconi Company in a high position.
Danstan A. Aeria, of the well known Penang family, joined
the railway as an Assistant Engineer after obtaining an English
diploma, but he did not stay very long and went in for the more
lucrative business of contracting. He built the fine survey offices
in Kuala Lumpur, but of recent years has emigrated to pastures
new in Muar, a State that is advancing unnoticed in the South.
Everyone will remember- C. H. C. Buchanan of the Selangor
Secretariat, who left the service in 1913 and took to rubber plant-
ing in Perak. He married Miss Blackett a Governess that
Mrs. Harry Talbot brought out, and they have finally settled
down in Spain.
John O'Hara was Inspector of Waterworks and did splendid
service in this connection from the beginning. His daughters were
Mrs. Hay and Mrs. Yzelinan, and he has two sons in the forest'
service of the P. M. S. He died in 1913, just over the age of 50
but was a very big made man full of fun and good humour and
had a large circle of friends.
William Hay came here from Ceylon in 1892 and was by
profession a Surveyor. He joined the Mines Department as
Inspector and was stationed at Kajang and elsewhere, but resigned
and became a miner himself and did well, but lost a lot of money on
working land that proved patchy. He is the big game hunter, so
well known to the elephants and tigers of this Peninsula.
( 26 )
Christian Wagner came horn Perak shortly after the federation
as Deputy Commissioner of Police but retired in 1904, and being
a Barrister-at-Law began to practice here, where he is at the
present time with his son Stockwell in the firm. He lost one
son in the war and the other is looking after their rubber estate at
Bench and Bar.
On the representations of the Planting Community, who were
anxious to have their rights guarded, as a good deal of capital from
Home was at stake, lawyers were admitted for the first time. The
first to be enrolled was Mr. P. J. Joaquim (the father of one of
the partners in Pooley & Co.,) who was also authorised as a land^
broker for the State ; but why this needed specific authority is not
known. Up till now lawyers are not admitted to the Court of
the Warden of Mines, but it is believed the restriction may shortly
be removed. Judging by the number of Magistrates and Judges
decisions that are upset these days, it is supposed that the legal
fraternity were required in the country. Mr. T. H. T. Kogers.
wlio is now the doyen of the Selangor bar, arrived close on
Mr. Joaqnim's heels from Perak. In those days our first Judicial.
Commissioner for the whole of the F.M.S. was Justice Lawrence
Jackson, q.c, who did not stay very long out here.
Mr. C. W, Hewgill opened an office in Kuala Lumpur soon
after, and in later years the firm was known as Hewgill and Day.
the latter conducting it alone till he retired. During the war Day
was Hony. Secretary of the F. M. S. Auxiliary Hospital in
Hertfordshire, upkept from local funds, and for which Sir William
Taylor, retired Resident General of the F.M.S. and the London
Government Agent, did yeoman service.
The jury system, which was inaugurated on the advent of the
first Judicial Commissioner, was abolished ; owing to a Perak
murder case, proving unsuitable where two or three nationalities
were empanelled. A ssessors then were appointed and have proved
generally satisfactory, as when they disagree with the Judge a new
trial mnst take place before a fresh Judge and Assessors.
( 27 )
Rest Houses already existed in each of the districts and were
very clean and comfortable generally, some of the caretakers having
been there for years. The old rest house at Kuala Lumpur
still exists and Monsieur Sabatier, who also had a hair dressing
saloon for both sexes, was about the first lessee. Mr, G. A.
Ketschker subsequently took it over and ran it for a good while
with conspicuous success, till he opened the F. M.S. Hotel hard by.
After him Newmnn, the retired Station Master, was the lessee and
he also ran it for some years till he got too old to carry it on.
In recent years Mrs. Schmidt, later Mrs. Stapp, whose husband
was killed in a motor accident in Singapore about a year ago
managed it with her daughter,. Mother and daughter are now in
British East Africa. Finally " Daddy " Sarre, well known in tlie
Colony, made a good thing out of the resthonse shortly after the
big rubber boom, This old resthouse is now part of the Scheme
tor Chambers to the Selangor Club. The Victoria Hotel was
opened fairly early and was the scene of many luncheon and dinner
parties, and it was here that meetings of the Planters Association
and other bodies used to be held, but it did not last very long as
the proprietor lost money, probably on the accomodating chit system.
In those days only strangers stayed at these hostel other visitors
staying with their friends. Among Government Servants who
travelled on duty it was an acknowledged arrangement that they
stayed with congenial friends and sent their hosts a cheque for
their night allowance. A novel arrangement no doubt and quite
sound provided one's host thoroughly understood it, otherwise it
lead to trouble. At Klang Mr. Kennelly was in charge of the
resthouse as lessee and he made such a good job of it, that it
became noted for many things. Mrs. Kennelly is still out here and
has her mother, who is a very old lady of French extraction, still
K. Thamboosamy Pillai came here from Singapore with his
brother as Clerk to Mr. Guthrie Davidson, the first Britfsh
Resident, who was a partner in the legal firm of Rodyk and
( 28 )
DaridsoD, Later he was transferred to the Treasury, where he
eventually became Head Clerk and acted as State Treasurer for
some months. He was sent by the Gorernment to India and
brought over the first batch of Indian Immigrants for the Railway
and Pnblic Works Departments. Eventually Tambusamy Pillay
resigned the Government Service and went into partnership with
Towkay Loke Yew in the big Rawang Mining Concession, in
which they both did extraordinarily well. He was the acknowledged
leader of the Tamil Community and was consulted by the Govern-
ment on all matters of importance, He was a Member of the
Selangor Club and a "strong supporter of the Turf Club, owning
many race horses and was a member of practically every public
body in the State. He died in Singapore in 1 902, where he had
gone for a race meeting, but his remains were brought here and
buried. He had four sons, the eldest of whom, K. T. Parimanan
Pillay, died about four years ago and was a very popular young
man. The only surviving son to-day is K. T, Ganapathy Pillay
who is quite young, possessed of a pleasing disposition, and who
will doubtless come into public life as his years advance. He has
been a supporter of the Turf up till now. The family had their
seat in Batu Road, but the house and grounds were recently sold
for the new Victoria Institution buildings it is said.
R. Dorasamy Pillay came here in the early eighties as a
Contractor for road making, when he prospered. He too hailed
from Singapore, where he was the Army Commissariat Contractor.
He owned several tin mines in the Kuala Lumpur district and in
later years took over, on certain terms, all the valuable mining
lands belonging to the Sultan of Selangor in the Ulu Selangor
district. He was also contractor to the railways for the supply
of " bakau " (mangrove) firewood, when he leased forests on the
coast from the Government. He was one of the leaders of the
Tamil Community and a Member of the Sanitary Board, but was
of a retiring disposition. He interested himself in the Methodist
Boys School in Kuala Lumpur where his sons were educated,
contributed liberally towards the building funds ; and for his
generosity a hall was named after him. In recent years Dorasamy
( 29 )
Pillay had been much troubled by asthma, and premonition
seemed to have made him visit almost all the sacred Hindu Shrines
in India. He died a few months after his return, monrned by all
classes, especially the poor whom he fed at regular intervals. He
left three sons, one of whom died a year ago, the eldest of whom is
R. D. Ramasamy Pillay, a very steady young man of enlightened
views, who will doubtless come to the front as years advance.
This young man is fond of lioijse racing and is a well known figure
at most of our race meetings.
Afler the demise of the two above mentioned men M.
Cumarasamy Pillay, who came to this State in the later eighties
almost straight from Raffles Institution, Singapore, (where he was
educated,) became a leader of his Community. He originally
joined the office of Capt. Syers, Superintendent of Police, and was
later transferred to the Conrts as Interpreter. He rose to be
Chief Interpreter of tlie Supreme Court, where his abilities were
openly acknowledged by both Bench and Bar. He retired less
than two years ago after twenty eight years service, but keeps his
age very well, and is now doing business as a merchant.
( 30 )
We still are glad to have among us " Sammy " Scott, the
well known Chemist who opened about the first ice works and
aerated water factory in Kuala Lumpur on the Brickfields Road
where there is a road named after him. He regaled us with such
rare drinks as potash, lithia and seltzer waters, sparkling fever
tonic etc ; but it is surprising to relate that neither the ice works
nor the pop factory paid, and had to be reluctantly closed down by
" Sammy ". His last " pill " shop as a Cash Chemist was at the
junction of High and Klyne Streets and he sold out only a few
years ago, and was much missed in the business life of the city,
which he enlivened with his caustic wit and ready humour. We
wish him long life as he did a deal of good quietly and was a very
sincere friend. He is about one of the oldest European residents
and has never been back to Scotland since he came out in the
eighties. He recently went to Australia for a few months.
We had more than a dozen sets of brothers in the State in
the early days, so the land must have been good to live in when
men advised their brothers to come out and join them.
They were the Harpers, Meikles, Glassfords, Kindersleys,
Hubbacks, Stonors, Careys, Walshes, Douglases, Bellamy's,
Staffords, Cummings, Sandersons, and in later years the,
Vanrenens. Some were planters, others " Sowdagers," others
miners, and not a few joined the Government Service, though it
was not considered very lucrative then.
Read Lodge 2337 (English Constitution) had its premises in
Clarke Street and had been already in existence for a few years
when its office bearers were Brothers Sanderson, Russell, Nicholas,
Hemmy, Welch, and Perentice.
Towards the end of 1893 Sir Charles Warren, Officer
Commanding the Troops in the Straits Settlements, laid the
foundation of the present lodge on Damansara Road, built by the
( 31 )
Masonic Hall Co , Ltd. Sir Charles will be remembered as head of
the great London Police Force, the finest in the world. The new
lodge was opened a year after, after the usual consecration cere-
mony by Brotiieis Watkins, Makepeace, Welch, and Sanderson,
and at the dinner following the Eesident J, P. Rodger, c.m.g.. and
the Capitan China were present, wlien great enthusiiisra prevailed.
Nicholas was the contractor who buill the lodge which stands in
C. E. F. Sanderson gave a big album to collect cabinet size
photographs of members of the craft, and it would be interesling
to know if this book still exists.
There is today a Lodge Tullibardine (Scottish Constitution ) in
the Federal Capital, but why a second one was necessary is not
known, merely perhaps in the way that we have two clubs. There
is also a Makepeace Lodge holding meetings in Read Lodge.
Read Lodge has done yeoman service for the whole community, as
it was often rented out for dances, dinners, and receptions. In
this lodge the Royal Arch and Mark Meetings are also held.
During Mr. J. P. Rodger's term of office as British Resident
we had a good many well known visitors. First came the Hon.
Stratford Tollemache who took up land for coffee planting, and in
later years sent his two brothers out here, one of whom temporarily
joined the department of agriculture during the plague of locusts.
Mr. Kirkwood, Legal Adviser to the Japanese government
visited us as early as 1896 and looked over our railway and Public
Works Engineering Shops, also our English and Vernacular
Schools, and other institutions. He generally went into our
methods of administration and was greatly struck by the great
advances made on every side in a few years in Perak and Selangor,
doubtless copying our methods a good deal for Japan.
Mr. Ralph Paget of the British Legation in Japan, and
Mr. Maurice de Bunsen of the Bangkok Legation visited Mr. and
( 32 )
Mrs. J. P. Rodger and did some touring in the States. It is
surprising Imw. few globe trotters know of these States, and liord
Northcliffe said something to tliis effect lately when he visited ns,
but when the Prince of Wales visits us we should be known better in
the West and the Malay Borneo Exhibition should largely help in
Posts and Telegraphs-
C. R. Cormac was Assistant Superintendent and is still with
us as Chief in Charge of Selangor, Negri Sembilan and Pahang.
For an officer that comes into contact with (he public no better,
choice could have been made, as he has always been willing to help
those in need of it. Cormac played the violin and largely helped
at our concerts.
Prior to 1891 the State had no stamps of its own, and those
from the Colony of the Straits Settlements were used and sur-
charged with a Star and Crescent, with Selangor printed across. In
1891 the State stamps with the springing tiger in " lallang " (tall
grass) were issued, but the subsequent surcharges have been many
and varied. Rates of postage were raised from two to three cents
for local letters, now it is five cents. The service stamps with the
letters " 0. G. S." on them were used on Government parcels from a
certain weight beyond ordinary letters, an account being kept of
each occasion when they were used. These stamps were scarce for
this reason, but it is said, with what amount of tnith it is not
known, that some officials were keen on sending samples of bricks
timbei- etc to each other as they then collared the stamps for
The Post Office Savings Bank was opened in 1893 and had
as its first Manager, Mr. A. R. Venning in addition to his
duties at the Treasury. It did not catch on to any great extent
and even now its interest is far too low to make it in any way
attractive to the public.
Wooden telegraph poles were used for a good while, but we
soon indented on the Crown Agents for iron ones, but the telephone
( 33 )
was not brought into use till much later, and to-day we can speak
fairly far, but not far enough as to Singapore, Penang, or Ipoh.
Public Works Department-
Mr. 0. E. Spooiier was State Engineer prior to federation,
but afterwards took charge of our railways. E. R. Stokoe, who
only retired a year or so ago, was District Engineer. The High
Street Bridge in Kuala r.um[uir was completed in 1893. The
foundation stone* of the large public offices was laid in October
1894 by Governor Sir Charles Mitchell in the presence of the
Resident W. Hood Treacher, and the estimated cost was dollars one
hundred and sixty thousand. Sir Charles was against the vote as the
revenue of the State then was only tliree million dollars and he
thought that we should hnsband our resources, but gave way to the
wishes of the Resident. He said that the money ought to be primarily
spent on new roads and communications, as tin would not last for ever.
They were completed about the middle of 1897 and opened by the
first Resident-General, Sir Prank Swettenham, k. c. m. g., and it is
said that the estimate was not exceeded, marvellously cheap and
the fine buildings are today easily worth a million dollars. The
big clock for the tower of the Government Offices arrived a few
" Carcosa " was built in 1897 by contractors Nicholas and
Walsh and is the present residence of the Chief Secretary, F. M. S.
and the word " Carcosa " is also that officials telegraphic address.
The road from Kuala Kubu to the Gap, Raub and Lipis in
Pahang was pushed on witii by Messrs W. H. Tate and
J. J. Tait contractors, who were well known as " Tate and Tait",
but they parted after some years.
The public works factory, state 'store, timber depot and
brick and tile factory were opened in June 1894 and W. A. Leach,
who had previous experience in this line of work, was in charge ;
till T. Groves was made Factory Engineer, a position he occupied
off and on for years, retiring some little time back.
( 34 )
Brickfields Road, known by the native population as"Batu
Limablas" got its name owing to the brick and tile factory there.
Clarke Street consisted of stables and sheds and the Post
Office somewhere there was a quaint looking structure.
A. C. Harper & Co., had their first office in this locality. The site
of the present Supreme Court was known as ' Dhoby's Green," the
clothes being dried there after being washed in the river close to
where the fine Malay Mosque now stands. Onr Town Hall is hard
by and the twQ buildings are today far too close Ht each other.
In honour of the successful completion of the fine public
offices, by far the biggest building work then undertaken, the officers
of the department of Public Works gave a dinner at the rest house
when C. E. Spooner, o.u.a., State Engineer, was the chief guest.
Covers were laid for about sixty and Mr. Ketschker who made
the arrangements, as lessee of the rest house, was congratulated
in the early hours of thp following morning for his work. Besides
this a great ball took place in the New Public Offices after the
internal fittings had been designed and put up under the able
supervision of A. B. Hubback. C; E. Spooner was presented by
his brother officers of the department with a service of plate
embossed with an impress of the fine offices as a mark of his
ability, and compliments were blown about to and from him
The floods of October 1895 did a great deal of damage in
Kuala Lumpur and hampered many new works then in progress.
The Ampang Waterworks were begun in 1891 and completed in
1896 by Mr. Paxon, Hydraulic Engineer, and J. O'Hara his able
The reservoir then had seventy days supply for Kuala Lumpur,
since then another smaller reservoir has been constructed in the
Weld's Hill reserved forest, and many additions and alterations
have been made. Since 1896 the population of the citv has
increased by leaps and bounds, but we have water not only sufficient
for ablution but can still add as much as we like to our whisky
( 35 )
and the native population of comse use it largely as a beverage.
The contractors for these huge works were Messrs. Howarth
Erskine & Co., who were afterwards absorbed by the United
The head-quarters of the police department were shifted
from pillar to post till the offices in High Street were built
and opened with a. large attendance of Chinese, who showed an
interest in their own protection. Our town and country roads had
never tasted tar macadam, but they were passable for a young
country relying for almost its entire revenue from the duty on tin
ore. The Chinese then as now were large building contractors,
and Ang Seng, who died a few years ago, built the Government
Offices to the plans supplied under the supervision of the officers
of the Public Works Department. It is truly marvellous what
the ordinary chinese workman can do with his skill, and his
industry is great. In the old country four or five or more skilled
workmen in different trades would be required to put up a large
building, whereas here one ohinese is a buildef, mason, plumber,
carpenter, joiner, and blacksmith. Small wonder then that the
lesser populated continents with white populations are chary of
letting the celestial in even under drastic restrictions.
The Gaol at Pudu was built about this time for short
sentenced prisoners, criminals being sent to Taiping in Perak,
The top of the high wall round this gaol was piled up finally with
loose bricks neatly arranged, glass being strewed on the topmost
layer. The reasons for this brain wave are obvious, and it has
prevented many escapes of notorious characters. It is not known
where the prisoners were kept before the Pudu place was built, but
the very amusing and interesting book containing the remarks by
Visiting Justices and others in the present gaol could tell us.
Once the Gaoler suggested that five prisoners who were rather ill
should be sent to the hospital at Klang for better treatment.
With this the British Resident agreed, and said that, as there were
only five of them and he was going to Klang next week, he would
take them with him by boat. Residents do not amuse themselves
in this way in modern times it is believed, but then our pioneer
prisoners were said to be sporting and far more communicative.
( 36 )
This same Gaoler was a genius in his way, it was to him that the
idea first occurred of the advisability of having some sort of fence
around the gaol. The Visiting Justices admitted that something
of this kind was usual with regard to gaols. With this view the
Besident concurred, so » small fence was erected which effectually
preyented straying cattle from grazing in the gaol and interfering
with the prisoners. This worthy custodian has long since retired
on<a hard earned pension, which for some years he is said to have
supplemented by supervising the menage of an exiled Bourbon
( 37 )
Knala Lumpur has hot snlphui- springs at Setapak, but they
receive little attentinn from the Authorities beyond the few bath
rooms erected, which is a great pity.
As they are so close they would be largely used, if people were
sure that they were not frequented by diseased persons, for whom
separate premises of the open air variety could be built. At the
twelfth mile Uln Klang there are other hot sulphur springs. How-
ever sixteen miles from the capital and fourteen miles from Kajang
stands the " Dusun Tua " (old orchard) bungalow, where there are
fine sulphur springs and proper bathrooms; and a fairly clean river
flowing on the opposite side. This sanatorium was built in 1891
tor a couple of thousand dollars in the orchard (chiefly containing
dnrians) planted originally by the Sakais, our aboriginee friends of
these parts. The water was analysed by Dr. Boih from Singapore
and he stated it contained chlorine, ammonia, and sulphide in
modified forms, and it has it is said given relief to persons suffering
from rheumatism, richman's gout, lumbago and other classy
The site for the Sanatorium at Bukit Kutu in Ulu Selangor
was chosen by Treacher and Venning at a height of about three thou-
sand feet, and the bungalow built later on at a small cost owing to
the cheapness of building materials generally in those days. Bat it
is not patronised a very great deal owing to transport difficulties,
though a good few Government folk go there for their many week
end holidays, besides the general public know so little of the
The first coffee estate was opened on Weld's Hill (named
after the then Governor) where Liberian coffee was planted by
T. Heslop Hill, who was a partner in the well known firm of Hill&
Eathborne, Contractors etc. This firm planted the Ginting Bedai
and Batu Caves estates with Arabian Coffee, but later abandoned
( 38 )
them owing to difficulties, over labour and the distance from Kuala
Lumpur. Jaranese and Pahang Malays planted their kampongs
with Liberian between the race course and " Lincoln " Estate.
Messrs Toynbee, Laird, Currie, and Dougal opened "Hawthornden ;
L. Dougal " Edinburgh " at Kepong, also " Roslin " and
" Lincoln " in the Setapah Valley. Later the Meikle brothers
(" Lairds") opened " Wardiebniii ", and the Glassford brothers,
who had planted coffee before in South India, " The Mount "
E. V. Carey opened "New Amlierst ", A. B. Lake and Paget.
"Kent", and Murray Campbell " Aberscross " and all were planted
with Liberian Coffee. About two thousand acres in all were then
under cultivation on these properties, but about four times that
amount of land had been taken up for future development. J3atu
Tiga way we had " Glenmarie " and "Enterprise" managed by
Hurth, whose wife's hospitality was greatly appreciated.
W.W. Bailey (Tim) planted "Petaling" Estate near the rail-
way, which was later acquired by the Petaling Coffee Co, for dollars
twenty thousand for two thousand acres in all, only partly planted; but
the capital for further development was dollars one hundred thousand.
Bailey became Managing Director — of course Bailey also planted
" Vallambrosa " at Klaiig. Capt. Treweeke and Melbye opened
" Tremelbye " Estate, Klang, and here also Malcolm Cumming
opened two hundred and fifty acres with Liberian. A.
Walker was then Manager of " Lowlands '" planted a bit
earlier. E. B. Skinner at that time was in charge of Batu Caves
estate. In the Kajang district, the Kindersley brothers, R. C. M.
known as " the Corporal " and D. C. P. as " the Marine ", owned
" Incli Kenneth " estate and took upland on the Rekoh Road,
after which they named their new property.
The former is the planting member of the Federal Council
of to-day. The Hon. Everard Fielding also took up land which
is now the big " West Country " Estate in Kajang and Geo.
Shepherd was Manager of " Balgownie " Estate.
The father of Cecil and Leonard Wray, of tlie Government
Service, first introduced coffee planting into Malaya, in Klang it
was planted by Javanese and Malays and later by Chinese,
principally with Liberian.
( 39 )
The price of coffee was about dollars thirty five a pioiil and even
went up to dollars forty for number one. The duty was one and
half per cent on the gross value. H. H. Huttenbatch, of the
present firm of Huttenbach Lazarus, opened a coffee factory
in the latter part of 1894. Then it was roughly estimated
that it took about dollars three hundred to bring an acre
of coffee into bearing, and with Inck in two and half vears you
got your money back. The resnlt was that coffee was planted
extensively in Ceylon and here, and we both had a bad slump.
The coffee tree however suffered badly from the attacks of fungi
and pests, more especially when the cultivation was extensive,
particularly in Ceylon. In later years a good many Chinese inter-
planted Para Rubber with coffee till the shade of the rubber trees
allowed no sun in.
There is no doubt that Heslop Hill was our pioneer coffee
planter and a recognised authority, and was part owner of such
well known estates as " Weld's Hill,"" Kamuning," " Klang,"
'' Lilian," " Eveleen." and " Linsum." In later days he was
largely interested in Para Rubber and was Director of several
Companies, the chief one being the Linggi Plantations Co. He
was Immigration Agent for the F. M. S. in India where he
resided, but had differences with the Government, it was rumoured,
and retired after a liberal settlement for both parties. E. V.
Carey introduced the Berkshire hog at " New Amherst," where
his house was once badly struck by lightning, when Mrs. Carey
and the baby (now Mrs. Jack Spooner) received very severe shocks.
When para rubber became the fashion he opened up " Carey
Island " off Port Swettenhara, and was also a Director of Jugra
Lands, where he insisted on mixed cultivation, such as coconuts
etc., a practice extensively carried out in Java. He died only a
few years ago at home leaving quite a tidy fortune. Clem
Glassford and his brother were excellent sportsmen and extremely
popular, both being good cricketers and golfers. They took well
to rubber and did extremely well out of their estates near Sungei
Buloh, but it is believed that they have both gone west, fine
big men who were friends of everybody. R. C. M. Kindersley
( 40 )
and his brother D. C. P. successfully turned " Reko Hill " from
coffee into rubber, and have done a great deal for the industry.
The former has now represented planting interests on the
Federal Council for some years and has proved very sound, but his
brother was killed in the great war to the regret of all.
E. U. and R. M. Skinner are still largely connected with
rubber planting interests and held a large share in the big
Belgian Company, but their interests were recently changed, and
they still remain large shareholders and Directors only of the
Kajang Group, of which " West Country " is the chief one. They
have interests in Kedah and elsewhere also. It is believed that
both brothers liad retired, but the big slump in the rubber industry
when the price went below seven pence has caused a good few old
planters ta return and reorganise their large interests.
H. C. Rendle was at Castlefield but .is now in Kedah and
still plays a good game of lawn tennis. In 1910 rubber went
almost to thirteen shillings and this year it almost touched six pence,
what a stupendous difference in the price per pound when it is
considered that very ordinary sized companies turn out two and
three hundred thousand pounds a year.
Mr. R. Munro was even then at Jugra and one of the finest
agriculturists in the country. He had large rubber interests, but
counterbalanced them with coconuts on which he was the leading
authority. He was truly one of nature's gentlemen, a fine pianist,
and we all remember the visitors book in his bungalow. He but
recently left us for a better sphere, and iiis memory has been
perpetuated to a considerable extent with the " Hibiscus "
flowering plant of which he was very fond and had every variety
Mr. J. 0. Pasqual lived in the State and was a great believer
in the use of Chinese labour for our coffee estates, and advocated
recruiting for the purpose. Quite recently he struck an under-
ground cave rich with tin ore in the limestone cliffs in the State
of Perlis ; after shafting somewhere near a thousand feet, and he
thoroughly deserved his luck. He is still hale and hearty but
resides at Penang, and has recently been interesting himself in
( 41 )
paddy planting. He will remembei- the scarcity of rice in the
Kuala Langat district about December 1896 owing to the failure
of the Indian crop, when a note of warning was issued, which came
in at one ear and went out of the otlier as far as the Government
were concerned. In 1920 the price locally per " gantang " went
to $1 50, when Eve times that quantity ought to hare been bought
for the money, and the Government lost many millions of dollars
in selling cheaper than they purchased abroad, chiefly from Burmah
crippling their finances, so much so that during the war loans
had to be raised.
There were a good few acres of pepper planted and some of
our coffee estates a'lso indulged in this cultivation, but it was more
extensively planted by Javanese ; and local and foreign Malays in
their kampongs. " Beverlac " and " Ebor " estates in the Klang
district, which had been planted with' pepper before co^ee, were
under the management of Stephenson, The price of pepper was
somewhere in the vicinity of dollars ten per picul but it varied
enormously, and those that cultivated it never could gauge how they
would stand with their finances, and for this reason alone pepper
The consols of the East however were never planted with a
rush, even on the co.ist, simply bftcause they took some' years to
come into bearing. No finer land for this steady cultivation could
hare been found than that on our coast line, but there is little
doubt that it would take an enormous amount of capital to bring
an estate into bearing almost anywhere inland.
Every kampong contained in almost equal numbers coconuts,
cofEee, pepper, and fruit trees, in the same way as they now contain
rubber, coconuts, and fruit trees all cramped together, without a
hope of any thriving well. The Government about this time
considered that the real pioneer days were fast passing away and in
consequence it raised the land rents from 25 cents to 50 cents per
acre. Enormous areas in recent years were given out for Para
Rubber planting in one block, with the result that small would be
( 42 )
owners were blocked out ; and today we hare an over production of
rubber and the industry is in a more critical condition than eren
our pessimists imagine.
Soon after the federation Laurie Brown, of the well known
old family that had very large interests in Penang, was appointed
Inspector of Coconuts for the F. M. S. and did a deal of useful
work. He collaborated with R. Munro of Jugra in a book on
coconut planting, which today is recognised as one of the best
works on the subject. Laurie Brown retired some years ago
about 1915, and has settled down at the sea-side in Penang,
because the home climate did not agree with his health. Many old
residents have done the same thing here, but this is done much
more in Northern India where the hill stations have many retired
civil servants, army officers, merchants arid others living perma-
nently. Of course it depends largely on the ties left at home, and
when ones parents are no more, and the children have gone abroad,
it is pleasanter to retire where one has spent mbst of his lifa.
o s g
9 in ^
1-5 1* ^
rf o to
0) ^ o
. a -
* ^ ■ u I »
■a ^^ ;= § -ts
S '3 a s «
'-j O 1^3 O .
.5 H -3 t^ K
( 43 )
At that time the revenue of the wliole State amounted to but
three million dollars, and the expenditure annually recurrent and
special services two and a half millions, with quarter million for
railway extension; leaving a saving of a quarter million. A
very sound policy indeed, and no borrowing needed to do anything,
as our old administrators were aware that over quick development,
let the State in for what often was not budgeted for. For instance
the tunnel across the English Clhannel to France would probably
be an excellent thing, but like the Joliore Causeway under construc-
tion today time alone could tell us whether it was worth while
putting money into it. Now a days we seem to be out for show
alone, judging by the huge public buildings in the federal capital.
Many of them could have waited, as for instance the palatial
railway station and the railway offices opposite. The big railway
hotel has only ruined private enterprise,' and if it had not been
built we would have had another big hotel on the lines of the
present " Empire " for our visitors with no cost to the State. It
cannot be said that it is a paying concern, though the Government
may not lose money, but look what else could we not have done
with another million dollars. The pioneer policy was to have
plenty of room in our Government buildings, today half the space
is taken up with staircases and corridors, and so officials are
always grumbling for want of space in their offices. If only we
could get that great administrator Sir Frank Swettenham to
visit the Native States again and tell us, in the local newspapers
in a series of letters, what he thought of things generally from his
standpoint; it would be interesting, amusing and really worth
reading. He is not diffident in saying what he thinks, as early in
the days of the great war he said in the " Times " that the
nation was suffering from a plethora of Prime Ministers, so the
nation was, and so apparently are we out here.
The main line from Kuala Lumpnr to Serendah was already
open and was being continued in sections. In 1892 the branch
( 44 )
line of one and half miles from Sultan Street, to Piidoh was opened,
and later in 1895 the big gaol was built there. This line was
afterwards continued to Snngei Besi which had come to the fore
with its tin ore deposits.
The opening of the Ulu Selangor section, when Mr. E. W
Birch was Acting British Resident, Watkins, Railway Engineer
and Roy Assistant, brought the Governor Sir Clementi Smith and
Lady Smith and her two daughters from Singapore. There were
great doings and champagne, wliicli cost only dollars three per
magnum, flowed freely, and of course there was far more speech mak-
ing in those days. Murray Campbell represented the contractors. Sir
Button Gregory Ltd. By the way Campbell was Chieftain at the
first St. Andrew's dinner held in 1890, and the next
dinner for some unknown reason was not held till 1894.
Connaught Bridge was built at a cost of dollars one
hundred thousand, half being cost of materials and the
other half for erection, and was opened in 1890 by the Acting
^ Governor Sir Frederic Dickson, father of the other day District
Officer of Klang. The channel of the Klang river was diverted,
tlie old bed filled up, and . the station almost ceased to exist.
Considerable alterations were made to the Kuala Lumpur Station
which was pulled down in recent years and replaced by the
present palatial buildings and hotel. About 1893 Murray
Campbell & Co., were relieved of their railway contracts, and other
smaller contractors came in as H. 0. Maynard, Dalrymple, Gordon,
and George. Porsyth Martin was responsible for a good few
railway surveys and will be remembered as a ventriloquist. All
here then will remember the railway accident in August 1893, just
across the Connaught Bridge, between the Kuala Lumpur
passenger train and the goods train from Klang ; when the
engines that collided were the " Lady Clementi Smith " and
"Lady Clarke" named after the wives of Governors. Geo. Bellamy,
District Officer, Kuala Selangor, was badly injured and had to go
home on this account, and subsequently was invalided for the
same reason. Reyne of the Public Works Department was less
slightly hurt but his niother who was with him on the journey
escaped with only a severe shock. She has settled in Kuala
( 45 )
Lumpur and is now about eighty years of age but wonderfully active
in mind and body. She is running a small farm of her own and
is of course the oldest European resident of Selangor. In this
railway accident one Chinese was killed and about fifteen injured,
some rather seriously, but if the collision had occurred on
Connanght Bridge the consequences must have been disastrous.
About this time an unusual accident happened on a locomotive
when a gauge glass burst and badly injured the driver.
The Railway receipts then were about dollars six hundred
In these days single tickets were issued for a return journey,
one and half fares only being charged, but it is no longer in force.
D. J, Highet was Divisional Engineer and it will be remembered
that he married Miss Carpmael, whose brother was out here, but
he went later to Uganda. Highet was very popular officially
and socially, was a keen golfer, and retired from the service only
a tew years ago.
Peter Hoffner was with Murray Campbell, the Contractor,
but after a few years joined tiie department on the open line,
resigning just before the rubber boom to- take charge of Towkay
Loke Yew's estates. He will be remembered as part owner with
Laurie Yzelman of the Sungei Ohoh Mine, which afterwards was
planted np with rubber and floated into a Company. Hoffner was
a keen race horse owner and also a fine sportsman. He relates
how he shot four tigers with one bullet. What happened was
that a tigress that was causing trouble on Chimpul Estate was
shot by Hoffner, and when the carcass was being skinned it was
found. that the beast was heavy in litter. Tiiree perfect cubs were
discovered and Hoffner has them to-day carefully preserved in
spirits. They are valuable, the incident is unique, and the
specimens might be procured for our museums, if a reasonable
figure were offered. Hoffner is managing a rubber estate in the
direction of Batu Caves and keeps his age very well indeed.
The m»in line to Kuala Kubu was opened by Governor
Mitchell in October 1894 on which Watkins and Roy again did
( 46 )
Theodore Hubback, brother of " Trilby," was District Engineer
Coast but later resigned and planted rubber for himself.
G. H. Fox joined tlie Department when it was known as the
Selangor Government Railway, and is largely to be credited with
the work of construction on our main lines since then as Chief
Construction Engineer. He has more than once acted as General
Manager of Railways and has been a general favourite all round.
A. H. Bagnall and W. D. Fisher were mainly responsible for
the extensions to Jelebu and Kuala Pilah, while Western Walsh
did the settling out of many permanent way extensions. Our
railways are known now by the mystic letters F. M. S. R., and
a few years ago when the train was crawling along a flooded
section of the line, a young blood (noted for his wit) pointed to
these embossed letters on the side of one of the seats in a first class
compartment ; and said in Malay, " Fakir Macham Sidikit
Rosak." Literally translated it means " think like little bit out
of gear," quite good at the spur of the moment.
In' 1887 this Bank opened a sub-agency in a shop house,
Bruce Webster being the first sub-agent. After a few years the
bank removed to the new Government Oifices, where the Chief
Secretariat now has its record rooms on the ground floor. Sansom
Greig, Forbes, Ramsay, Gibson, Sutherland and Dalziel succeeded
each other at intervals, and business expanded quickly. Then the
premises were removed to the present site, and later the present
fine building was erected, which had to be extended lately owing
to further business. Up to 1910 no other banks existed in Kuala
Lumpur, and the status of the Kuala Lumpur branch was raised
to an Agency when all F. M. S. branches were subordinated, and
J. F, Beddy was appointed from China. D. W. Gilmour was the
next Agent and he was succeeded by J. Argyll Robertson who
is in charge to-day, and who received the honour of 0. B. E. for
his services to the Government during the great war.
In 1909 a sub-agency was opened at Klang and a year later
another at Seremban, owing to increased business due to the great
( 47 )
rubber industry principally. This bank made the war loan of
dollars twenty millions a success, for which Argyll Robertson O. B.
E. was primarily responsible. He was no stranger to the federal
capital as he had already worked in the bank years previously as a
junior. In 1922 the fine new building at Klang was opened.
During the great rubber boom in 1910 the Hongkong & Shanghai
Bank, and the Mercantile Bank of India were opened the same day
and have since built their own premises. A 'Chinese Bank, known
as the Kwong Yik (Selangor), was opened a few years ago and has
its premises in Cross Street. All the banks seem to be doing well
but since the rubber and tin slumps are very chary about overdrafts.
The dollar was slowly depreciating and went as low as one
shilling eight pence but averaged between 1894 and 1897 some-
where in the vicinity of one shilling eleven pence, of course there
was an extraordinary fall in the value of silver in 1893. Govern-
ment servants were compensated, and those that joined prior to
1896 drew four shillings and three shilings eight pence for leave
pay and pension respectively to the dollar. Five dollar notes of
the same size as the present ten dollar ones were the lowest value
notes in circulation. The silver dollars were the Japanese Yen
and the Mexican dollar, both mnch larger in size and heavier than
the present coin — Five, ten, twenty, and fifty-cent silver pieces
were in circulation and the filthy one dollar and ten cent notes were
the outcome of the great war and possibly our finances. These old
' silver dollars were double the size, and weight in silver of a two
shilling piece yet they were worth only at best one shilling eleven
pence. This is what political economy has taught us is exchange.
Other instances are the silver German mark whose face value was
about one shilling and which today is worth only one and half of our
copper cents, forty three of which make a shilling. The Russian
rouble, also a silver coin is in much the same position in January
1922. Of course the enormous fall in the values of these two
foreign coins is in the main due to the finances of the countries,
which have been substituting paper money for silver. The bullion
has been used for payments abroad, since their credit had fallen
( 48 )
below water mark, and silver hiis been shipped in bulk against
purchases and lately indemnities in the case of Germany.
In ] 904 tlie dollar was fixed at two shillings four pence and
the salaries of the senior membfrs of the Goveriunent Service in
all branches were made sterling, the old rates of pension at four
shillings and three shiling eight pence being done away with
automatically. This jevision of salaries according to a sterling
basis on the pound was however done when the rate of exchange
was about one shilling eleven pence, so that those tliat accepted
it were badly caught. Their pensions were already materially reduced,
and now the current rate for calculations rose from one sliilling
eleven pence to two shillings four pence and salaries were also
materially reduced. The Government Service was poorly paid
till after the war, when the salaries were revised and they were very
liberally treated. Of necessity a good deal of foreign coin found
its way into our n)oney markets and the circulation of copper and
bronze coins from Sarawak, Borneo, and Brunei had to be
prohibited. It is worthy of note that the Planters Association
decided that a gold coinage or any scheme for raising the value
of the dollar would be detrimental to planting interest s.
( 49 )
The Selangor Club, in later years popularly known as " The
Spotted Dog," was originally started in the early eighties and in
the nineties still had the following original members in the State: —
D. G. Campbell, Bellamy, Archie Harper, Norman, Venning,
Capt. Syers, and Tanibusamy Pillai. It was started in a little
plank building with an attap roof, but in 1897 when the front
verandah was added, many of ihe original beams were eaten into
by white ants and dry rotf had also set in. The first Secretary was
a German, Count Benistorff, but after about two years he left.
BernstorfE was some years later heard of in North China where he
was A. D. C. to a Chinese Viceroy, and indeed was in favour at
One oanno't help wondering whether this is the same gentleman
that was Attache at the United States Embassy during the great
war. The British Residents in the persons of Messrs Maxwell,
Rodger and Swettenhani, were the Club's first three Presidents,
and Messrs Bellamy, Venning, and Archie Harper the first and
best three Honorary Secretaries.
In 1893 •' Tlie Dog " had about one hundred and fifty members
(today it has nearer two thousand) but for some reasons, the
chief being the credit system, it was on the verge of bankruptcy.
Matters went before the Government who supported it with a small
yearly contribution of about dollars two hundred and fifty, but those
in authority were not sympathetic and recommended liquidation.
However on the assurances of Messrs E. W. Birch and
A. R. Venning it continued on a revised system witli such
success that it again paid its way, thanks to these two members
chiefly. Towards the end of 1894 Bligh became Secretary,
when the subscription iwas dollars two monthly with a dollar
extra for games. Robbers ievidently thought the club a money
making place then, because they carried off the Secretary's iron
safe and blew it in ; but it was rumoured tliat they were badly
disappointed. Taking away and blowing in safes seemed to have,
been a favourite pastime just then, as later the General Hospital
( 50 )
and Printing Offices received similar attention. It was then
believed that a huge joke had been played off on the robbers by
H, H. Huttenbach proved a wonderful Honorary Secretary,
and when he was reluctantly compelled to give up his labour
of love, the members presented him with a purse to which he
strongly objected. However the members would have their way,
but Huttenbach was not to be outdone and he purchased a dinner
service from home and had his initials H. H. and the year inscri-
bed on it with the words " To the Selangor Club ". He gave the
dinner service to the Club, and there is still part of this china in
use today, and some of the newer members would be interested in
Before the rubber boom of 1910 the old building was entirely
pulled down and the huge new premises built on the plan of
A. B. Hnbback (" Trilby"). It has eight billiard tables, a big and
small bar, a gentlemen's card and reading room, another reading
room also used for dances, dressing rooms, tiffin rooms ; and in recent
years Chambers hard by for members with all meals supplied at a
reasonable figure. Cricket, tennis, and football are regularly played
on the Club's grounds and in January the Club won the final in
Rugger for the cup given by the officers of H. M. S. " Malaya "
The Club has been extremely fortunate in having Mr P.
W. Gleeson as its Secretary for so many years, as a finer organiser
it would be well nigh impossible to find.
After some years it was fell that a Club for ihe Subordinate
Members of the Government Service and otherg was needed.
Handsome donations were given by Messrs J. P. Rodger, Towkay
Loke Yew, Tambusamy Pillay, Towkay Yap Kwan Seng,
Dorasamy Pillay and the Straits Trading Co. that handled all
our tin ore. The building is between the present Chartered Bank
and the Selangor Club. After it was occupied debentures weie
( 51 )
issued to provide a billiard table, and the cash system was brought
in force. This system " the Dog " eventually had to establish and
of conrse it always pays, and is a blessing in disgnise.
Dr. E. A. 0. Travers was by virtue of his great popularity
among all classes elected first President of the Club, and he
continued in this position for many years, taking the greatest
interest and helping those on the lower rungs of this world's ladder.
Goonting was first Honorary Secretary and he is still in harness in
the Government Service and takes bis years lightly.
One of our first matches was with the fiftyeiglith Regiment
stationed at Singapore when we played Bircli, Lake, Bellamy
Highet, Dougal, Mitchel Holmes, Nenlivonner, Pereira, and
Weinman and OhristoSelsz of the Ceylon Colts ; tlie last named
being one of the fast bowlers in the country. In 1891 we played
Penang who won by 7 wickets, but we set this right in 1893 by
winning by an innings and 71 runs, when every member of the team
got into double figures, except the fast bowler who took 1 3 wickets
for an average of about 8 runs each. In this match A. Stephen
Anthony made 35 runs in the first and 55 in the second innings
for Penang, but he was a very fine bat and field, besides being an
excellent exponent of tennis in those days.
During X'raas week 1893 Perak played us on our own
grounds, when Dougal was skipper, but we were badly beaten by
an innings and 38 runs. For the visitors Fox made 64, Hughes
38, Stephens 31, Freddy Talbot 30, but his brother H. L. did not
come off, much to the disappointment of the spectators who exfiected
a sort of Jessop day at " Lords". For Perak, Fox, Mackenzie,
Hughes, and Freddy Talbot bowled well. Two years previously we
pbiyed Singapore on their grounds and after a most exciting finish we
won by the narrowest margin of one run. fjater Singapore came
to Kuala Lumpur and we asserted ourselves and won by an innings
and 62 runs. E. W. Neubronner made 84 not out, and
B. J. Perera 47 and most others got into double figures —
J. Glassford took 10 wickets for 47 runs on a very good wicket.
( 52 )
Selangor played Perak at Taiping in 1894, during Easter,
but the game was a draw. The Perak bowling was very good by
Fox and McKenzie, but our fast bowler OhristofEelsz did not come
off. Clera Glassford, E. W. Neubronner, Paxon, and Perera got
well into double figures, Swettenham and Birch both played for
Perak. Towards the end of 1895 our cricket club colours arrived,
dark blue ground with narrow red and yellow stripes, about an
inch and a half apart. For practice we had interdistrict matches,
particularly with Klang. where a good many planters were keen
on the game.
Again we played Singapore but they beat us this time, though
only by the narrow margin of about 25 runs, and in the second
innings only — For our hosts J. Orman made 56, and for us
Neubronner (who was playing very well) 41 and Dougal 50.
Theodore Hnbback and Mactaggart bowled well for Selangor.
In the latter half of 1896 A. B. Hubback (" Trilby ") who
had been playing good cricket made his first century.
In the next matcli Selangor versus Perak at Taiping Clem
Glassford, Whitley, and A. B. Hubback scored well for us, while
Ingall (" Daddy "), Oliver Marks, and A, B. Vonles did tlie same
for our opponents. At Chinese New Year 1897 Singapore played
us and lost by 85 runs. In the first innings they made only 38
runs and we were not much better with 79, of which Clem
Glassford put up 40.
In the second innings in this match Neubronner and
J. G. Glassford put up good scores, and the latter also bowled
well with Whitley. For our opponents Davis and Read bowled
well. The old photographs in " The Dog " of the different teams
are most interesting, and it is hoped that they will be carefully
preserved in a climate where everything deteriorates so quickly,
more especially money, in more ways than one. Towards the end
of 1897 our new pitch 100 yards square, nearer the church end of
the " padang ", was made through subscriptions, and it was a
blessing not to be hit on all parts* of the body by the ball after-
( 53 )
The links on the Petaling Hills were rented and those at the
Lake Club had been slightly improved. A small pavillinn and
shed for horses was put at the former, not very far off from the
newly built incinerator. The first competition on the Petaling
links was lield in August 1893 and was won by J. G. Glassford,
the other competitors being C. Meikle, Welch, Dongal, Sanderson,
and Berrington our Senior Magistrate. Tiiere were no scratch
men at tiie time but J. G. Glassfords handicap was 1, Berrington's
3, and C. Meikle's 8. Mr. W. Hood Treaciier, our British
Resident, and. A. T. Berrington did a great deal for tiie club when
it was first opened, giving prizes and encouraging tlie royal and
ancient game. At the first prize meeting the Capitan China gave
a handsome tropiiy for the approach and putting competition.
Our first matcii on these links was against Singapore in tlie middle
of 1896 on the Petaling course. Our guests brought up
Robertson, Adamson and Capt, Ainslie of the Northntnberland
Fusiliers (the fighting 5th.) We only just held our own, but felt
that we had wiped off the ignominious defeat of the previous
X'mas in Singapore in a very mild way. The pre.sent golf links
are on the far side of Circular road which used to be a well-known
snipe shooting ground, and the club has so flourished that it can
now afford to have a paid Secretary.
( 54 )
In the districts of Klang and Kajang, and Kuala and Ulu
Selangor the officers in charge gare every help and inducement for
the alienation of state lands. For some years the rents on
agricultural lands were twenty five cents an acre, and tracts of
"lallang" covered land were offered at no quit rent for a certain
number of years. Town lands were given out at dollars twenty
five per building lot, plus the nominal quit rent of one dollar per
annum. Lands were granted straight away by Penghulus (Native
headmen), when the areas applied were less than ten acres in one
lot, and even above this area the Land Officer, who was often also
the District Officer, invariably approved. Some officials holding
these important positions in those days are happily still with us in
the persons of Messrs. 0. F, Stonor, C. N. Maxwell and E. A.
Dickson. The first named is Resident of the State and the other
two are only a step behind, since there are insufficient staff
appointments to go round. Indian Civil Servants draw the same
pensions irrespective of their salaries to compensate them for bad
luck when actually in harness and it used to be pounds one
thousand yearly. Shop houses of the second class,, built of brick
pillars, but with plank walls and tile roofs, cost under dollars one
thousand each ; and were good for many years, in fact we know
of a few that are standing yet. Between 1896 and 1897 about
fifty brick and tile roof shop houses were erected in both Kajang
and Klang townships, owing chiefly to the impetus given to busi-
ness generally by the coffee estates that had and were being
Both the engineering fiinis of Riley Hargreaves & Co. and
Howarth Erskine & Co. had their foundries in Kuala Lumpur,
but in recent years were amalgamated with the United Engineers.
They bnilt both the Market Street and High Street bridges, which
stand today as samples of their excellent work. They also indulged
in the lucrative pastime of coach building then.
C. E. P. Sanderson, who was a prominent and useful member
of the then small community, was Manager for Riley Hargreaves
( 55 )
& Co., while G. Shepherd held the same position with Howarth
Erskine. Both these firms sold cushion tyre push bicjcles, and
pneumatic tyres as soon as they came to the far east. They also
advertised electric light plant, but the first exhibition was given
in Sanderson's bungalow in High Street, when the dynamo used
was of the Gram pattern.' It is worthy of note that the gambling
farmer was the first person to book an order for electric light as
soon as it could be installed.
A. Richardson will be remembered as also with Riley
Hargreaves & Co., while C. Foster was Agent for Howarth
Erskine for the Waterworks and Pahang trunk road contracts.
A. C. Harper & Co. were Agents for the Straits Steamship
Company, but Russell Grey did not join the firm till later, when
a few years after the popular Archie Harper retired from
business. Nicholas and Walsh were large building and road
contractors. The former has his son as Assistant Engineer in the
P. W. D. but the latter retired from this country owing it is
believed to ill-health.
Messrs. Chow Kit & Co. opened a general retail store and
Khoo Keng Hooi left the Postal Department to manage the business
after but a few years and is now a partner. The firm was housed
in Loke Yew Buildings for many years but is now across the
brido-e. They have wholesale houses here and in Singapore and
Penang, and it is rumoured that these did well. The original
partners we think were the following Chinese, Loke Chow Kit,
Low Cheng Koon, Fong Gaik Seng, and Teok Seow Teng. The
second and third were joint managers, and Chow Kit & Co.
absorbed the retail firm of Cheong Lee & Co. The firm were sole
Agents for the Daily Advertiser of Singapore. Maynard & Co.
Chemists, for whom David Graham now of Ipoh worked for many
years, were bought out by D. MacCreath and the place was known
as " The Dispensary ".
Chop Ban Joo of Market Street were probably the best
known dealers in oilman stores etc., and it is believed that the
firm still stands in the capital.
( 56 .)
Ang Seng was our biggest building contractor, and besides
tlie public offices he built the railway carriage shops at the Central
Workshops at Sentul, just outside Kuala Luni[iur. These carriage
shops have proved a great success under Mr. G. C. Forbes
the Locomotive Superintendent, who had as his able Lieutenant
A. 0. Ferdinands who retired last year on reaching the age limit
and has retired at a South Indian Hill Station.
Maynard Brothers were also contractors for the railway and
department of public works. Sam Kee made the best gin slings
in Kuala Lumpur and his public house was a great meeting place
for old iind young.
A good deal of business was done there among " sowdagers "
(merchants^ and Sam Kee greatly prospered. When he left for
his celestial world Guan Hong took his place and took a good many
of the previous publicans tips. ,
The drinks were good and sheafs of chit paper hung over
the counter for those wanting to sign their names instead of
paying cash. We had no good photographer here then, although
we are flooded with Japanese and Chinese ones now, but
Lan\bert & Co., used to send up a representative for suitable
occasions such as weddings etc. All the big Singa])ore and
Penang firms used to seud their travellers round for orders among
them being such well known names as Dando, Fox, Betts. Law,
Barr and others. The first named represented Robinson & Oo.i
of Singapore for many years and went west ouly the other day
when on a visit to Taipeng in Perak.
Straits Trading Co.,
The Straits Trading Co., had its head office in the capital
and agents in the mining districts such as Sungei Besi, Rawang;
Serendah and Kuala Kubu, Messrs. F. G. West, E. M. Alexander.
G. H. D. Bourne and W. W. Cook were Managers at one time or
the other, and M. A. Hawes was in one of tlie outstations.
Mr. W. F. Nutt did not come to Selangor till much later,
but he has been out a good few years and has just retired,
perhaps only temporarily. This prosperous Company even in
( 57 )
these old days was making a yearly profit of about dollars three
hundred thousand for Selangor alone. It practically held the
monopoly for tin ore as a big American Company was turned
down by Sir Frank Swettenliam, and the only other competition
in recent years was from the Eastern Smelting Company.
The brigade was justly known as the friend of Insurance
Companies but it received practically no help to its funds from
them. Captain H. F. Bellamy was virtually the life and soul
of the brigade and devoted much time to its welfare and advance-
ment. He had as liis able Lieutenant H. H. Hnttenbatch, and
after him Disbrowe who were both intensely keen on their special
work of putting out fires.
The firemen at the tinae were Charter, who in later years
after much self sacrifice became Chief Officer, and Cormac
Buchanan, Cowell, Paterson, Ring, Johns, Jansz, J. Askey and
Herft among others. In 1893 the new fire brigade station in
Ampang Street was erected and opened with a smoking concert,
but the building was not exactly a triumpli of arcliitecture.
The front of the building was pleasing to the eye, but the
back was one vast blank wall. The force consisted of five officers
and about twentyfive firemen and others, with one Merryweather
Steam fire engine capable of di.scliarging three hundred and sixty
The brigade ranked very high among others in the Crown
Colonies judging from a letter received at the time by Captain
Bellamy from Messrs. Merryweather & Sons.
In 1894 the Chief Officer of the brigade (Captain Bellamy)
went to the Brussels fire brigade fete to see what he could learn
for the benefit of Selangor. The bridage attended church parades
and held Christmas dinners which were largely attended. The
force was known as the '■ Bellamy Boys," and their periodical
competitions as fire festivals. Today there is a paid whole time
officer in charge of the brigade, but the firemen still join volun-
tarily and expose themselves to danger and much inconvenience,
( 58 )
merely to help the public and incidentally Insurance Companies.
In 1894 Inspector Wood who had over ten years service was
presented with the long service medal which Chief Officer Charter
also holds. Herft also holds the long service medal from the
brigade for long and usef nl services.
This pack hunted fairly regularly and owed its existence to
Dr. E. A. 0. Travers and Capt. Syers, both very keen sports-
men. Deer and pig were often bagged and invariably a very
enjoyable few hours were put in, but somehow owing to lack of
support and enthusiasm from others the pack dwindled down.
J. Meikle and Oldfield often also hunted, and Chong Seng, who
was in charge of the dogs, was a very useful siiot, and had a
good few deer and pig to his credit at hunts.
In 1895 W Leacli re-established the pack with the lielp of
some of Dr. Travers' and Captain Syers' dogs, but later as many
as twenty four died from various causes.
The real first master of the Selangor Hunt was W. Leach
and to celebrate the event a dinner party was given to which even
budding sportsmen were invited.
Later Captain Syers became master, but he resigned and
Dr. Travers never could be induced to become master, though he
really formed the pack with Syers.
In recent years W. Willie Douglas (late Commissioner of
Police) kept a very fine pack of thorough and crossbred hounds,
which he hunted regularly with the late C. E. Donaldson, William
Hay, Frank Mills ("Mabel") who distinguised himself in the
Great War, and others.
On one occasion during these hunts by the cliffs at New
Ahmerst a tiger was bagged by William Hay. Tigers and
panthers during these hunts killed a good few of Willes Douglas's
dogs, and ever seemed to be prowling about though they were
very rarely met. It is hoped that a shoot can be arranged for
Prince of Wales in Marcii towards the Batu Caves, as tigers prowl
about there daily.
( 59 )
Tin Mining was going on gaily in Siingei Besi, which in 1895
was said to have a population of over twenty thousand. Prospectors
were busy in different parts and among them C. C. Thompson was
in the Kuala Kubu district, also Dnnraan and Bamforth, at
Kalumpang. A. ("Abang") Braddon was mining at Eawang
and his mine suffered heavily through floods, Towkay San Ah Wing
and J. C. Pasqual opened , a big mine at Serendah which did
extremely well for a good while. At Rawang, as much as half
an onnce of gold was found to a picul of tin ore, some nuggets
being almost half an inch long, but most of it was gold dust. The
export revenue on tin ore was at this period about a million dollars
a year, hence the rapid development of the country in roads and
buildings. It was rumoured that many years ago a fanatic Chinese
passed a skewer through his cheeks and prophesied in his frenzy
that Kuala Lumpur would be a mining town of importance. The
people received this news with great rejoicings and made an
image to the prophetic Chinese, which they often subsequently
carried in procession and deposited in a special temple erected
for the purpose. Something almost identical occurred at
Semenyih in the Kajang district and was similarly perpetuated.
Goh Ah Ngee struck a very rich patch at Rawang of only about
an acre in area,-but he made dollars two hundred thousand out of
this pocket. He was a convert to Christianity, which religion
received a marked impetus at this time among the heathen Chinese,
but no similar luck was recorded. Of course Goh Ah Ngee partly
built the Roman Catholic Church at Kajang and gave the ground
without very much persuasion for past and future luck. Across
the border in Negri Sembilan at Balau his kongsee ("Kong Ngee
Sang") had large mines which proved exceedingly profitable and he
made money but was generous with it. Towkay Loke -Yew of conrse
was fast becoming a rich man and had mines in every district
in the State where mining was carried on. He r.ried the unique
experiment of Javanese "lampan" workers on wages of dollars ten
per mensem for seven working days a week; but the work was too hard
( 60 )
and monotonous even for Javanese, and they gradually dropped
out, Easa was also forging ahead, but not so fast as Sungei Besi,
Rawang, or Serendah, and there was a strong demand for town pro-
perty in these villages. A very fine large tin crystal specimen from
Sungei Besi was at that time obtained by the Straits Trading Co.,
and was considered good enongh for presentation to the Museum.
Tbe Capitm China (Yap Kwan Seng) had at that time in
his possession a half ton boulder of tin ore whicli he afterwards
presented to Governor Mitchell, who gave it to the Singapore
Museum, as it was too cumbersome a curio for Government house.
There were no European Companies operating so early in the
State, and even individuals generally sub-let tlieir lands on tribute
to Chinese who did tiie actual supervisoii; and entirely Chinese
labour was employed. No sliaft mining was then done at all and
all the mines were open cast with pumps operating to get rid of
the water that came from below and from the heavens.
F. J. B. Dykes became Warden of Mines ixi 1897 being
transferred from Perak, where previously he had been coffee
planting. He rose to be Senior Warden but retired in the prime
of life owing to continual ill health. Afterwards he became
Deputy agent for the F. M. S. in London, but to the great regret
of his many friends he joined the great majority a short time ago.
He shared with Ceorge Cumming, Western Walsh, and Hemmy
the fine house facing the race course, and known as the "Shabeen"
in Kuala Lumpur, noted for unbounded hospitality and inspired
"jamborees". George Cumming was mining on his own account
at Rawang and did very well for himself, but in later years he
had very bad luck, especially at Salak South where he lost a
fortune. He was a general favourite and a very kind hearted
soul, always out to give a lame dog a hand over a stile, but we lost
him early to our great sorrow, as he died in Singapore only a few
years ago His brother Malcolm Cumming was the prominent
planter of, Negri Sembilan closely connected with tbe big Linggi
Plantations Co., who went home a few years ago and has not
returned alas. He was at one time chairman of the Planters
Association of Malaya. Exposure on Y.M.CA. work in i France
was the cause of his death.
( 61 )
Lee Mun Pun was Manager of the " Blondin" Mine at Sungei
Besi and afterwards of the Sang Choy Mine belonging to Towkay
Cheong Yok Choy. He has been Manager of Chan Sow Lin's
foundry for years, but we think he siionld have studied for the
Port Swettenham was not named in those days but was
known as Sungei [)ua and Kuahi Klang. It was and is undoubt-
edly one of the Quest harbourMn the peninsula, though perhaps
not better than Lumut in fne Dindings, which belongs to
the Straits Settlements. Even tlien as many as nine ocean going
vessels were seen at Sungei Dna at a time occasionally.
H. M. S. "Egeria", Captain Field, and H. M. S. "Pigmy",
Captain Phillips were about the first to visit us, in the early
nineties at all events. Officers and men of both warships came
to Kuala Lumpur and were suitabaly entertained.
The former proved tiie capabilities of the harbour for receiving
ocean going steamers at the site of the then proposed wharves by
her survey operations. Admiral the Hon. Sir Edward Freemantle
K. c. B, and Lady Feeemantle arrived on the "Alacrity", with
Capt. Henderson c. b. accompanied by H. M. S. " Severn " and
were received by the British Resident with the usual formalities.
As this was our first visit from a British Admiral the celebrations
were on a fairly large scale, the usual " at homes ", dinners, and
dances taking place; but the lower deck were not forgotten and
had a good time too. H. M. S. "Porpoise", Capt. Pelly, next
honoured us with a brief visit, when some blue jackets spent the
night in Kuala Lumpur as a change, whicii they mnch appreciated^.
After this we welcomed H. M. S. "Mercury", Capt. Fawkes, and
the officers as a compliment for the hospitality shown them gave a
cup for one of the races in a forthcoming gymkhana. These
visits from our sailor friends were to our ideas too short, and too
few and far between. H. M. S, " Alacrity " visited us a second
lime but much later on, when Vice Admiral Sir Alexander
Buller K.o. B. and Lady Buller honoured us with their presence in
( 62 )
the capital of the State. If we are not wrong, we recollect the
gallant Capitan Bnller m. v.o. c. b. of H. M. S. "Malaj-a" telling
us, in one of the many neat speeches he made when he visited us
last year, that his father had visited our shores before. Some of
these fine ships came only for survey purposes, but others came as
cases of piracy liad occurred on our coast line, when Chinese
attacked opium and gambling farms and got away scot free after
purloining a small " tongkang " for their cargo. Our Harbour
Master then was a genial old satt, Capt. Walters who went west
a good many years ago. Our jBttarbour Master now for some
twelve years has been Commander Mills, r.n. i.s.c, but he was in
Perak in the same capacity since u892 and is getting on to the
good age of sixty seven. He brought H.M.S. " Malaya " into Port
Swettenham, as far as it was safe for her to coiue with her great
depth, and now he hopes to bring H.M.S. " Renown " safely in
with H.R.H. the Prince of Wales, after which he retires. He
retired from the Navy in 1891 but was made Commander in 1895,
and will leave his name behind here in the person of his son who
is in the Malayan Civil Service.
Big Game Shooting-
Selangor was sportingly known as the playground of
Singapore on account of the many visitors we had from there for
cricket, football, lawn tennis, and shooting. The Malayan bison
called " Seladang " were found in the hinterland and on our
borders with Pahang, and the Negri Sembilan. It is in no way
inferior to the Indian bison as one of our large bulls stand over
sixteen hands and with veryhigh withers. The greatest shikari of
this time in these native states was Capt. Syers who first formed the
'Belangor Police Force and was afterwards Commissioner. It is
said that he shot as many as fifteen " seladang " in Selangor and
Pahang and eventually met his deatli by a wounded beast in the
Temerloh district in July 1897, when out for big game with
Robert Meikle. He was buried in Pahang (Kuala Lipis it is
believed) mourned by his family^ and a very large circle of old
friends. The bison that gored SyerS took altogether fifteen shots
before it died, the last few shots being fired by Meikle when the
( 63 )
other gallant sportsman could not hold a gun owing to his very
severe injuries. The mounted head of this " seladang " to-day adorns
the walls of the Selangor Club. Syers came to this State in the
seventies from the British Army and for his meritorious services
was made Captain Superintendent by the Governor. Robert
Meikle shot two bull •' seladang " during one trip in the Ulu
Selangor district. Dr. Travers we believe was also responsible
for more than one, and the same is the case with William Hay,
both of whom are still in Kuala Lumpur.
William Hay is undoubtedly today our finest big game hunter
and apart from Seladang has shot over forty elephants and has
seventeen tigers to his credit, some of the latter being man eaters.
It is believed that the Government, rubber and coconut planters
and owners of native holdings invariably appeal to him to shoot
rogue elephants and others doing damage to valuable property.
Up to the present he has not given us the pleasure of reading a
book of his personal shooting experiences in Malaya during the
past thirty years, but it is hoped that at no distant date he will do
so. He has had many narrow escapes from elephants, though
not from tigers, and it would be unkind of him to withhold such
interesting matter from us. He seldom or never can be got to
speak of his many experiences but laughingly he has been known
to relate how a wild boar at Kajang once tossed him in the air
gashing him slightly.
His young son of nineteen has followed in the father's footsteps
and had two elephants to his credit last year. Anotlier excellent
big game shot is Chief Inspector Taylor of the F.M.S. Police now
in Kuala Lumpur.
Tigers carried off a good few Malays and Chinese, in dry
weather especially when they found it difficult to scent the tracks
of deer and pig. Between Batu, Rawang and Serendah were their
favourite haunts, but at Sepang they killed about thirty five men,
mostly tappers on Ciiee Woh Estate. The Government reward
was raised from dollars twenty five to dollars fifty but it was
( 64 )
found quite inadequate to trap or shoot man eaters, as they were
so daring that they carried off another oooly while you beguiled
your time up a tree over the corpse of the previous victim.
Our villages then were surrounded by virgin jungle and a good
deal of jungle produce was worked by both Malays and Chinese.
There is no doubt that the first time a tiger kills a man it is
more or less of an accident owing to coming on him suddenly
unawares. After that he learns by instinct that it is so much
easier to kill man, who unfortunately the tiger did not previously
know was edible.
Lord Cairns come over here for an elephant and -'seladang"
hunt, he went out with Capt. Syers and was very pleased with
his bag for the whole trip ; though the fine sketch of a charging
elephant in the Dusun Tua Visitors book hardly corroborates this.
Almost all the visitors to Selangor for big game shooting were
taken into our forest by Oapi. Syers a very fine sportsman in every
sense of the word.
( 65 )
River traffic was of necessity much greater in the early days
owing to want of roads, and the Gnvernment launch " Abdnl
Samad " (named after the Sultan) carried mails and passengers
from Kuala Selangor and Kuala Langat and used to look in at
Pulau Ketam and Kapar, if necessary. This little launch was
very old, another was built by Riley Hargreaves & Co. of
Singapore and giren the same name. It also ran as necessity
arose from Klang to the Kuala. We remember the' following
boats as running between Singapore and Klang, calling at
Malacca, Port Dickson, and Telok Anson en route,
The " Sappho," " Chow Phya," " Hye Leong," •' Amherst,"
" Ban Watt Hin," "Malacca," " Billiton " and "Pegu." also
between Penang and Klang the " Tavoy," " Hanoi," " Gympie,"
and 'J Teutonia." The ngents for the last named were H.
Huttenbach & Co., the enlarged Huttenbach Lazarus & Co. of
the present day. After some years the launch " Enid " was built
.(also by Riley Hargreaves & Co, of Singapore), and named after
Miss Treacher, daughter of the Resident, to replace the " Abdul
Samad " — Oapt. Wahl of the S.S. " Sappho " was a very popular
skipper and then had already been sailing in the Straits of Malacca
for about twenty years. In those days all coasting vessels,
whether big or small, carried guns as well as arms in case of
attack by pirates who were often foreign Malays, and also often
(Jhinese. The Government Steam Yacht i he "Esmeralda" was
used by officials between Kuala Klang, Singajiore and Penang.
She did yeoman service but was sold some years ago after the
" Seabelle," had been built for the use of the Governor, Resident-
General and other notabilities. Each trip by this boat, even in
those cheap days, used to run the State into four figures, besides
salaries etc., and in these days of easy communication and our slender
finances luxuries ought to be done away with, even by the biggest
in the land. Saloon carriages on mail trains from Singapore to
Penaag and vice versa can run the highest officials comfortably
( 66 )
without hurling (heir dignity, also the ittilway has been well
extended into Pahang.
Tiie Protestant Church (St. Mary's) was put up in the eighties
for about a ihonsand dollars. The present brick building cost
dollars ten thousand half of which was donated by the Government
and the other half by public subscription. Tiie Straits Trading Co.
generously gave dollars one thousand the Straits Steamship Co.
dollars five hundred and the Capitnn China Tap Kwan Seng,
dollars one thousand although not a Christian; but perhaps with
an inclination in that direction. Whether his generous gift
ought to have been accepted or otherwise is a matter of opinion.
The harmonium was given by Mrs. J. P. Rodger who was
extremely generous with her money as was her husband, our
The foundation stone was laid by Bishop Hose (father of the
present Resident of Negri Sembilan) in February 1894, and When
finished the building was also consecrated l)y him, assisted by
Archdeacon Pelhara. The architect was Norman and the con-
tractor Nicholas. — Mr. and Mrs. St. Leger Parsons jiresented the
carved wood pulpit desk and brass altar desk. The first brass
tablet erected in the church by public subscription was to the
memory of the Hon. Martin Lister (a son of Lord Ribblesdale)
British Resident of Negri Sembilan. Last year for some unknown
reason the finances of the Church were in a deplorable condition,
in spite of the fact that the Membership of the Selangor Club
(almost next door to the church) was someching like two thousand
and the majority there are Protestants. One can but draw ones
own inference from this fact. The Reverend. Frank Haines was first
Chaplain of the new church and worked very hard in its interests,
apart from the fact that part of his time was devoted to education
as Inspector of Schools for the State. Mrs. Haines helped her
husband greatly on the social side of his duties as Padre.
The Roman Catholic Church on Bukit Nanas Road, then had
already been built some years and the Reverend Cliarles Letessier
was parish priftst. He gave sermons in Chinese im- tlie benefit
of his celestial flock. His house in the Churcli compound was
burnt down and he lost, a fine library, bnt somehow saved his
furniture.^ About twelve years ago, more or less, the old church
was bnrnt down, and the present one erected by pnblic subscription,
fetes, bazaars, lotteries and so forth, all for the good cause,
Mr. H. N. Ferrers, the well known lawyer, presented the beautiful
marble altar and fittings for the new church, which is erected on the
site of the old one. At Semenyih Goh Ah Ngee had erected a
chapel on his coffee and coconut estat;e of about hundred acres
which was open for worship to the public, the [iriest from Kajang
The first Methodist Episcopal Church was built by Dr.
Kensett in 1899 at the junction of Malacca Street with Ampang
Road, when besides the founder the padres were the Reverends H.
B. Mansell, W. T. Maxwell, and last but by no means least W. E.
Horley who happily is still among us. This last named indefati-
gable missionary was instrumental in building the fine new clmrch
on the beautiful site on a hill facing Sultan Street and Pudu Road
in Kuala Lumpur. He is now District Superintendent of the
very large mission in the F. M. S. and is everybody's friend, no
matter what his religious belief. He is a great advocate of
The foundation stone of the Singhalese Buddhist Temple in
Brickfields was laid by Mrs. C. E. Spooner, wife of the State
Engineer, Selangor, towards tlie end of 1894. It would thus
appear that Christians evidently have no objection at assisting
prominently at the erection of heathen slirines, nor on the contrary
do Buddhists object to Christians laying tlie foundation stones of
their temples. Even Cliristiaiis among tliemselves in tlie various
denominations would we imagine not be so broad miiided and
practical, but the Singhalese Buddhists are not so bigoted. Mr.
Gunesekara was President of the Temple Oimmittee and the
building was opened in the following year witli full ceremonial
(. 68 >
The Victoria Institution in Higli Street, was erected in 1893-
1894 as a memorial to commemorate the dianiond jubilee of Queen
Victoria. The Government put up half the money* and the
Capitan China (Yap Kwan Seng) Towkay Loke Yew, and
Messrs. Thambusamy Pillay and Dorasaray Pillay, and the public
Mr. W. Hood Treacher, the Resident, who laid the foundation
stone also opened the bnildings the following year and donated a
scholarship, bearing his name. The buildings were designed by
A. C. Norman, the Arcliitect tor so many other buildings in the
capital of the State, and Nicholas the well known contractor built
them. The first trustees were the Raja Muda, Dr. Travers,
Messrs. Venning, Hiiines, and West ; also Towkays Ong Chi Lin
and Koh Mak Lek. Mr. Bennett E. Shaw M. A. (Oxon), came
direct from home as first Headmaster, and he is in the same
position there to-day ; but is retiring this year. He has turned
out many useful public men in almost every profession, and has
supplied the Government Service with most of their efficient
subordinates. It is to be hoped that the Government, the School,
old pupils, parents of present pupils and the general public will
see that Mr. Shaw receives a suitable gratuity, the interest on
which will keep iiim comfortably for the rest of his days. He
deserves well for having stood by the school so firmly when he
could probably easily have bettered himself elsewhere.
W. M. Pliillips, a brother of the Principal of Raffles School
and afterwards Inspector of Schools Perak (since retired), was one
of the first Assistant Masters and known to his intimates as " Proff,"
G. H. Heppoustall joined the school with experience from Ceylon,
but died after a good few years of service to our biggest school. At
the first prize distribution in December 1894 the total number of
scholars was only one hundred and fifty whereas to-day it runs
into close on four figures. The .). P.Rodger Gold Medal was
introduoed for the best boy in the school, and the Hood Treacher
Steve Harper, and Nugent Walsh Scholarships established for
( 69 )
poorer boys. The school only taught up to the sixth standard, but
to-day tliey go as far as the Senior Cambridge, which a good few
scholars have passed in the past. The Methodist Boys School
however was not opened till 1902 opposite the church in the
old market, next year removed to a shop house in Sultan Street
and the following year the splendid present building in the
Petaling Hills was completed. The Principals of the school have
been R. T. McCoy, Keverends B. J. Baughman, P. L. Peach, and
W. G. Parker who is there to-day. The pupils there now number
nearly eight hundred. Mr. Horley often visited Selangor, but
came here permanently in 1901 from Ipoh after building the
chwch and the Anglo Chinese School there. Building churches
and schools is a perfect habit with him, and he has the latter now
in practically every rising centre in these large states. What will
the mission do without him, and what will he feel when he is
forced through advancing years to retire to his home in the
United States of America ? But we trust that the parting will be
long deferred from his thousands of pupils, each of whom is his
The Christians Brothers did not have St. John's Institution
till about 1899 in the fine building on Bukit Nanas, principally
for boys of the Eoman Catholic faith. This and all the other
schools for the matter of that are so full up now that many boys
cannot get in. It seems very hard lines to want to educate one's
self and to be unable to do so. The work of the Christian
Brothers is too well known and appreciated to be dilated on here.
Languages of course are a strong arm with them, but then it is
hardly needed for the boys that enter here, except in the very
The Convent was established much earlier than the nineties
on the site of the present Government Printing Office, and ad-
joining the Chinese Roman Cathlic Church in Brickfields Road.
The Lady Superior then was the Reverend Mother St. Augustine
who had been with this great institution of help and succour since
its very earliest days. She died in Penang during a brief change
mourned by all her children all over Malaya ; thus closing a life
( 70 )
of deTotedness to a great cause. Madam St. Rose has been longer
in this convent than perhaps any one of the other nuns, and she
still carries on her duties with activity. The first Government
Girls School was started in the Masonic Lodge in Damansara
Eoad, when Miss Stratton was in charge, but was transferred in
1896 to a new building near Karapong Attap Koad. It was the
nucleus of the present Methodist Girls School and was handed
over by the Government to the American mission in 1896. The
school buildings were greatly improved and added to, and to-day
accommodate four hundred pupils for tuition, besides have room
for a good many boarders. In recent years a Church of England
Girls School was established on the Ampaiig Road, but with
varying success. It has however lately been put on a sounder
footing and is accommodated on Welds Hill where besides day
scholars, a few boarders are taken in. It is the opinion of some
people that the boys of each class of the Community should be
educated in a separate English School for many reasons, which
will appeal to each class in its own particular way. For instance
Chinese boys should be by themselves, as also Tamils, and the
same with Europeans and Eurasians who could have one school
owing to the very small number of the former. It is said that this
is the case in Indian English Schools, at least two good reasons
assigned being caste prejudice and opposite home life influences.
( 71 )
The Gymkhana Club had already been formed and the
course was on a five years lease from the Government. Mr.
A. K. E. Hampshire was about the first Secretary and took over
office before the 1894 Autumn Meeting. The course in those days
was a bit rough and holey and was fenced oS wilh bamboos,
which being exposed to the weather had to be constantly renewed.
During 1892 Burraah ponies were imported from Rangoon as
griffins and cost about two hundred dollars. They were really cobs
on the small side of fourteen hands, and somewhat too thick and
siiort for racing, but they gave us excellent sport. Apart from
that ihe Burmah pony makes quite a good hack and surpasses in
harness, being fast, strong, and stylish. They are more often
dapple and fleabitten gi'eys, which greatly added to their appea-
rance. Later we imported Java ponies from the Dutch Indies at
one hundred and fifty dollars each, and the breeder gave a prize worth
one hundred and fifty dollars, at our gymkhana meeting if we took
ten or more. These little animals were no more than about twelve and
a half hands and were weedy, but improved with feeding and care.
They also gave us mnch amusement and revelled in such names as
" Wee McGregor, " " Tlie Rat, " " Tiny, " and " Tom Thumb."
They were piebalds, skewbalds, and greys too, and soon found the
shafts of sulkies, and the unfortunate ones drifted to hired gliarries.
Finally Mr. Abrams of Singapore supplied us with Galloway
Griffins from Australia, about 14.2 hands at two hundred and fifty
dollars each, broken to the saddle. The price rose gradually till
it stood at about tjhree iiundred and seventy five dollars before the
great war for tiiis class of animal from Australia, from where we
have ever since imported for racing purposes. Our best Amateur
Riders then were Messrs Paton, Ker, and Raymond. The others
that rode were Archie Harper, Baxendale, Wellford, Oswald
Stonor, Braddon, George and Malcolm Gumming, Catto, and Coen.
Towkay Mak Lek's " Hotspur " wa.s a good tip especially
when ridden by Raymond — " Bend Or " and " Klang Gates "
were the two best galloways, and they ran a very fine match for
their owners; when Freddy Deniiys from Perak rode tlie former and
( 72 )
Raymond the latter, resulting in almost a dead heat, Our
auctions after selling races always found bidders and a good griffin
easily fetched double what he cost originally ; but in these days of
motor cars and so few people riding, selling races absolutely find
no buyers. Today a good hack can be had almost at any time for a
good home, as a horse costs almost as much to upkeep as a Ford
Car. Towards the expiration of the five years lease from the Govern-
ment for the race course, objections' were raised by them over
professionals riding at our meetings. The Gymkhana Club was
wound up and the Government politely told that the course would
not be required. Later the present. Turf Club, under the auspices
of the Straits Racing Association, was formed ; and an arrange-
ment made with Towkay Loke Yew for the use of the ground now
used as a race course. With the old Gymkhana Club only prizes
not exceeding fifty dollars could be offered for each race, but with the
Turf Club of course there is no limit. Capt. Fawkes, and ships
company H. M. S. " Mercury " presented a cup for one of our
races, but it had to be won by the same owner twice before becoming
his property. The first three day meeting, under the Straits
Racing Association rules was held in 1897, when we remember
such well known Jockeys as Dalian, Fiddes, Collins, Phillips and
Smith riding. Dalian always rode for Sir Frank Swettenham for
whom he won the big race on Locky, also the Governor's Cup at
Singapore on the same horse later. In September 1896 lotteries
were held for the first time, this was also the first time the pari
mutual was used on the course, but only after great opposition, the
silly idea being that the gambling spirit was being introduced.
At the same time nothing seemed to be thought of the daily bridge
parties for money at the Selangor and Lake Clubs, to say nothing
of the high play at poker possibly. The Selangor Turf Club is today
ihe third biggest race club in Malaya and has two meetings yearly,
with a gymkhana thrown in. It has now had as Secretary for
many years Mr. P. W. Gleeson who has special qualifications
for the post, and has done wonders tor the Club. He is so good
at the lotteries and totalizators and their complicated figures that
he is engaged by other turf clubs in the F. M. S., and outside
for race week for this purpose alone and well paid.
( 73 )
T. Heslop Hill brought the subject up first and very soon,
about the end of 1893, the first meeting was held when
E. V. Carey was elected President, and Malcolm Gumming, Clem
Glassford. his brother, H. Huttenbach, C. Meikle, Lake, Hurth,
Melbye, Stephenson, Nissen and Porcher were elected members.
Originally a joint Straits Settlements and Native States Associa-
tion was considered desirable. About twenty estates planting
coffee and pepper were represented by pioneer planters. The total
area under cultivation in the State was only about one thousand and
two hundred acres, and the total labour force did not exceed seven
hundred of whom about five hundred were Tamils and two hundred
Javanese and Chinese. H. Huttenbach was the first Honorary
Secretary and was later succeeded by the well known Tom Gibson,
in later years of " Treraelbye " Estate, Klang ; and after him again
F. M. Porcher tool; over the duties. The well known Tambusamy
Pillay was a Member of the Association as also was Towkay Kow
Soon Kiat. The wages for Tamil coolies then were between
twenty three and thirty cents, but recruiting from India under
indenture proved so futile that Javanese were engaged locally at
nine dollars per mensem. Today these latter coolies are the most
expensive to get as they cost almost one hundred dollars each by
the time they are landed on the estate from Netherlands India.
The Association even in those days discussed the simple matter of
discharge tickets to coolies, and it is worthy of note that that
same subject came up even as late as last year ; and yet nothing
has yet been unanimously arranged definitely.
The Government were asked to remove the three hundred and
twenty acre limit for coffee and rubber estates, but in recent years
the areas alienated went entirely out of all bounds, and three and
four thousand acre concessions were granted even prior to the great
boom in the price of rubber in 1910. The result being that it was
most difficult to obtain a fifty or hundred acre block of land any-
where within a reasonable distance of civilisation and close to a
( 74 )
The British India Steam Navigation Co., in Sonth India
were asked to become our Agents for recruiting etc, and later the
Madura Company came into ihe matter, and they liave done ns
The rules of this Association were framed foon after ; there
were marked differences of opinion, and it was not till 1896 that
they were actually agreed on. Today we have thousands of
planters, many district associations, and doubtless many rnles and
regulations, and only » little more nnity would appear to be wanted
between districts and again among States. In 1896 the Madras
Government removed all restrictions on recruiting, much to our
relief, and unindeulured coolies began to arrive more freely.
The rules of the United Planters' Association were finally
printed in the middle of 1897, when 'J'om Gibson was Secretary.
It was on the representations of this Association that lawyers were
admitted to practice in the F.M.S. to safeguard interests generally.
Whether they have exactly proved a blessing it is for planters to
say, but we adliere to the old saying that every case could be
settled out of court more econonically for both ]iarties ; as now a
days even the best judges often disagree. It is law, more law and
still more law, and how many have the money to carry tiieir
complaints as far as the Privy Conncil. Later Members of the
Association were the Kindersley Brothers (one of whom is now
a Federal councillor), Rendle, Toynbee, the two Skinners, Dougal,
The nucleus of the collection was begnn at Mr. Klyne's house
who had kindly lent part of it for the purpose till a Taxedermist
(Samuels) arrived from the Singapore establishment. Then a
very large number of the contributions were presented by private
persons in the State. Capt. Syers, Or. Travers, and Messrs.
Robson, Von Donop, Sanderson, and Skeat collected wliatever
they possibly could for the Museum. The first museum proper
( 75 )
was at Bukit Naiias, across the road near the Eoman Catholic
Church and the small building is still standing. Specimens were
beginning to be exchanged with similar institutions in other
parts of the world notably the United States of America,
Australia, Great Britain and elsewhere. W. W. Skeat, District
Officer, presented a splendid collection of Malaj models among
many other exhibits.
He was a naturalist and author, and collaborated with Dr
Aiinandale (now Curator of the Calcutta Museum) in several volumes
concerning the aboriginees ("Sakais") of the different States of
the F. M. S. Skeat retired at an early age owing to continued
ill health. Dr. Annandale spent several months out here for the
Liverpool or some other Museum at home, and took away many
exhibiis from our jungles, including skeletons of our wild tribes.
L. Von Donop did more for the institution individually than
any one else at considerable personal inconvenience, and our
progress was due largely to his energy and initiative in obtaining
exhibits etc. etc.
In later years he was Secretary to the Kuala Lumpur Sanitary
Board, and socially was a general favo\irite, retiring on arriving at
the age limit for the service.
G. Sanderson gave a complete skeleton of an elephant that he
had shot and it took some shifting, even in sections.
The Ca|)itan China (Yap Kwan Seng) gave a tin boulder
weighing well over half a tone from one of his mines.
Every Government Gazette then contained the names of
donors with the specimens they sent, and they were varied.
Leonard Wray, I. S. 0. Curator of the Perak Museum at
Taiping, which was then in a well advanced state, reported on our
museum in Kuala Lumpur at the instance of the Government.
He said after exhaustive examination that the place in reality was
only a curiosity shop. WUat was wanted was a Curator and a Taxider-
mist (besides the Dyaks and Malays) who could arrange the
( 76 )
exhibits on a scientific basis. Wray said that the mammals were
so badly mounted that they were of no value whatever, and truly
the tigers looked very seedy, not to say deformed, and the monkeys
looked so stiff that one could not help feeling sorry for them.
He further said that the birds were much better mounted, and
the fish section was the best. In 1902 H. C. Robinson was
appointed Curator and six years later was made Director of
Museums, F. M. S„ when Boden Kloss joined him as Assistant
Director. It is said that a good few duplicate specimens from the
fine museum in Taiping were brought to the Federal one on
Damansara Road. Since then these two scientific men have
worked wonders and have made many journeys by land and sea to
procure new specimens. The building was considerably enlarged
and the ground made picturesque, and the work generally is
slowing but surely progressing. To-day the Museum contains the
beautiful large model of H. M. S. " Malaya," the warship presented
to Great Britain, by the F. M. S. and the number of visitors to
the Museum in consequence has increased tremendously.
We will welcome our Prince of Wales in March and he
is sure to want to see this model in the museum. Lord NorthcliSe
the newspaper magnate visited the place during his brief
visit and was presented with a splendid a specimen of a kris as a
momento of his visit. It is wondered what we can give " The
Prince " from there. Singapore we understand is presenting
His Royal Highness with a number of wild animals indigenous
to Malaya. It is hoped, that the Museum authorities, not to be
outdone, will not conceive the brilliant idea of presenting some
( 77 )
The Selangor Rifle Association owed its origin in 1892 chiefly
to Dr.E.A.O. Travels, Capt, Syers, and the Harper Brothers; also
to T.J. McGregor, W. Crompton, William Hay, J. Brown, and
" Billy " Ridges. Martini-Henry Rifles were got out from home,
but the first lot were sent back as they were found to be inferior in
construction and totally nnfit for match shooting. One of the first
matches to be fired oS was against a team from H. M. S. " Plover "
at two hundred and three hundred yards, when Selangor lost by abont
ten points. Another of the early matches was with British North
Borneo each side firing on its own range, distance one hundred and
two hundred yards and the position standing. For Borneo H. E. the
Governor Mr. G. V. Creagh, (who was Assistant Resident in Perak
in the early eighties,) and Captain Pinson made seventy five points
each, and Dr. Travers and Summers sixty nine. In the aggregate
Borneo won, It may not be out of place in this chapter to passingly
mention that Messrs W. H. Treacher, E. W. Birch, Scott Mason,
and C. W. Parr all F. M. S. Ofiicials were each at some time
Governors of British North Borneo, the Chartered Company that
has so ably been presided over for many years now by Sir West
Ridgeway, g. c. m. g., at one time Governor of Ceylon who pays
the country periodical visits. Sir William Maxwell (father of the
present Chief Secretary, F. M. S.) presented a challenge cup for a
competition at two, five, and seven hundred yards, but it had to be
won twice in succession to be retained. It was eventually won by T.
J, McGregor. Crompton, who was in the Police, made a very
efficient Honorary Secretary and was a good shot himself. He
retired long before the rubber boom with a pension and will be
remembered as the owner of " Waterfall Rubber Estate " at
Rawang, which changed hands, and was later sold to the Mexican
Crude Rubber Co. Crompton was married a second time and
died in the old country. He has two sons by his first wife, both of
whom are still in Malaya. At the first shoot for the Maxwell
Challenge Cup Travers, McGregor, Oormac, Herft and Crompton
were among the competitors, who were not many. McGregor
was for some years in the department of public works in the
( 78 )
office and is now State Treasurer at Taiping, and is a brother of
Dr. McGregor who is in private practice in Knala Lumpur.
In 1895 Capt. Lyons was President of the Association, which
had then had a membership of about tiiirty. In 1896 the Singapore
Volunteer Artillery beat us easily ai two hundred, five hundred, and
six hundred yards ranges, when Morrison and St. Clair made top
scores for them, and Travers and Brown for us. About this time,
but shortly after, the Singapore Volunteer Infantry got their
Lee-Metford Rifles. Ladies commenced practice on the Morris-tube
range at twenty five yards and later for a match Dr. Travers kindly
presented a handsome first prize. Since then women have made
wonderful strides in rifle shooting and have even competed with men
with success. In September 1896 J. Brown won the Championship
prize for the whole meeting, and G, Herft was second. Brown retired
from Government Service as Printer, and Herft from the Sanitary
Board, and they are both enjoying their pensions. The latter holds
the volunteer long service medal for service in Ceylon and out here.
William Hay, the famous big game hunter, at a prize meeting held
in Taiping in 1906, when all comers from the Straits Settlements
and F. M. S. competed; made the astonishing score of forty nine, out
of a possible fifty, at the one thousand yards range; thereby winning
the Sultan of Perak's cup. We should think so, as it is really a world's
record, though it has possibly been made by one or two with
telescopic sights. Colonel W. Frowd Walker was scorer on tiiis
occasion. In 1911 we sent home a contingent of two officers and
eight men for the coronation of King George V. It consisted of
Major A. B. Hubback, Capt. Redfearn Shaw, Sergt. William Hay,
Sergt. Russell Grey, and Privates A, Dubois, A. B. Cross,
E. C. Fane, A. B, Waller, Thornton & Stamford Raffles. They
acquitted themselves very creditably and had a rare time in the
old country. They were under canvas at the Duke of York's
school and were inspected by the present Prince of Wales, Lords
Roberts and Kitchener and other generals. Of these ten we still
have out here Hay, Grey, Cross, Raffles, Fane, Thornton, and
probably Waller. Hubback and Redfearn Shaw are at home and
Dubois did not return after the great war. They should be
. Hit , - "•"' *«»-^
-I \ r^^^^
Eldest sons of reigning Sultans as Volunteer Officers.
Sitting right Lieut. Raja Alang Iskander of Perak (Now Sultan)
Sitting left Lieut. Tungku Abdul Rahman of Negri Sembilan
Standing left Lieut. Raja Musa of Selangor
Standing right Lieut. H. N. Ferrers (Barrister-at-law)
( 79 )
assembled for the inspection of the Prince of Wales if they can be
got together, and might go in mnfti.
A. B. Huhback was Lieutenant Colonel of the Malay States
Volunteer Rifles for many years and took an enormous interest
in the Corps. When war broke out he was Cliief Architect to the
F. M. S. Government, but he got leave and joined up early in the
great war. Hubback. went to France in command of an infantry
regiment then formed, and was later promoted Brigadier General.
He won the Distinguished Service Order and was also made a
Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George for his
services. Hubback, known to his friends as " Trilby," did not
retnrn to civil official life but continued in the army owing to his
conspicuous abilities and special qualifications. He married a
sister of A. B. Voules, Legal Adviser to the F. M. S. and, has a
son (Gordon) in the navy who came out here in H.M.S. •' Malaya "
as' an officer.
His brother Theodore, who belonged to the State of Negri
Sembilan, is a well known big game hunter and has published
several diaries of his hunting trips in Pahang, where he has a
residence by tiie Jelai Birer, near Bukit Eota. He has hunted
in Burmah, Alaska, and we believe in East Africa, and owned a
fine rubber estate near Jelebu which he is said to hare sold.
Dr. E. A. 0. Trayers was Residency Surgeon, and no more
sympathetic and pains taking doctor could have been found for onr
hospitals, when the natives were very diffident of receiving treat-
ment from Europeans.
Dr. Sinclair however was the first to hold this position and
was well known iind liked. Dr, W. M. Little officiated as Residency
Surgeon, but was out here only three year.s when he died leaving
a widow. He went to Bentong in Puliang in connection with the
serious disturbances in that State at tlie time and was afterwards
stationed at Klang. Dr. Scott was appointed in his place and
will be remembered as a good cricketer. Later came Dr. Welcli
( 80 )
who was inairied, but he did not keep the best of health and after
some years went home for good. Mrs. Abrams from Singapore
was the first Nurse Matron to the General Hospital, but in recent
years the exalted position of Matron General was created it is
rumoured with conflicting results. The Capitan China, with his
usual philanthropy, opened, and ran at his own expense, a hospital,
for Chinese on the Pudu Road known as the T'snng Shin Hospital.
Here the sick were treated by Chinese doctors with Chinese
medicines, but how they got on is not clearly known. Later a
shelter was erected for vagrants, but their numbers must have been
insignificant then, compared with the number today that one
sees begging in every part of the town. Some are nndoubtedly
decrepits for whom it is believed some sort of home exists, but it
may not be inviting or they would go there, on the other hand
they probably make a good thing out of begging.
The District Hospital on the Pahang Road in Kuala Lumpur
was opened about this time, and was made larger gradually, till
to-day it covers many acres of ground; has dozens of wards and
other buildings, and the patients number about one thousand two
hundred. It is also known as the Pauper Hospital and anyone is
admitted if he needs treatment or surgical attendance. A small
leper asylum was opened close by as f)art of the hospital, but this
awful disease has evidently spread so rapidly in this country that
the premises had to be largely extended and today there is over-
crowding. It is a great pity that the authorities did not look far
enough ahead in commencing this leper asylum, as some such
place as the island of Jerejak near Penang should have been
reserved for the sole purpose, as is the case in the Colotiy.
About this time Dr. Braddou and Mr. Hertz, who had both' been
bitten by mad dogs, proceeded to Saigon to undergo the Pasteur
treatment. From then till now this subject has been befnre the
Government and the public, but yet today we have no similar
institute in the F. M. S. nor has the Colony of the Straits
Settlements. Mr. H. P. Clodd thought that one might be
erected in memory of the heroic deeds of the exalted dead in the
gjreat war, but the Government has been so hard hit with financing
( 81 )
lice supplies, buying tin ore, and loss of rubber revenue owing to
the slump iu the industry, that it is really very hard up
and is raising loans to carry out large works In hand.
Mrs. J. P. Rodger, Dr. Travers and many others of both
sexes formed the Samaritan Society, with the object of providing
adequate nursing and comforts atone dollar per diem. What the
latter meant is not known, but a nurse was supplied at the ladies own
homes for one dollar a day. There are many private nurses available
to-day trained at home and locally.
Dr. McClosky joined us early and did a good bit; of work
for the Government and its servants especially. He was a very
able man and a staunch supporter of Roman Catholic Institutions,
doing a deal for the Church and the Convents. He retired last
year only and was suitably entertained with his wife prior to his
retirement on a well earned pension.
Dr. P. N. Gerrard joined the Government as District
Surgeon in 1897, when he came out with his first wife. Some
years after her death be married Miss Hoffman, a sister of the
European Hospital, they were both very popular. Gerard was a
Captain in the Volunteers and was down in Singapore attending
a camp when the Native Regiment there mutinied early in 1915,
owing to German conspiracy. He was murdered in cold blood,
because he refused to give up the keys of the ammunition store.
A clever doctor and a keen polo playei-, his untimely death came
as a great shock to his many friends in Malaya.
Dr. E. T. Maclntyre joined the Government in 1896 from
Ceylon after obtaining the L. M. S. diploma there, and was for
many years stationed at Serendab. In 1905 he took his L. E.
C. P. and other degrees in Scotland and in 1913 again visited
Europe and obtained the M. D. degree from Durham University.
Maclntyre retired in 1915 and went into private practice and
owns the Town Dispensary in Kuala Lumpur, where he is a
Member of the Sanitary Board. One of his sons is at present in
London studying, and intends competing at the Civil Service Ex-
amination for Eastern Cadetships after further coaching fortwo years.
( 82 )
Among the competitors were Bath, G. Gumming, Mitchell,
Vane (" WoUy ") Martin, E. W. Neubronner and M. A. Stonor.
The last named beat all comers at the high jump. The veterans
race always brought in Syers, Spooner, Huttenbach, Sanderson,
Hampshire, Charter, Lake, Vane, and Mitchell. Conditions were
handicap according to age, those under thirty and not less than five
years in the country debarred. Bicycle races were very popular on the
parade ground opposite the " Spotted Dog ", when there was a two
day meet with lotteries, a totalizator, judges, stewards, and handi-
cappers etc, were dnly appointed. This was immediately after the
advent of the free wheel and the pneumatic tyre. Sounds like a
big meeting under the S. R. A. Rales.
The first Police Sports were held on Boxing Day in 1894
when Capt. Lyons was Superintendent and Holmes Assistant.
Now it is a regular yearly event the prizes for which it is said are
found from the police fine fund. The Forest department it is
believed uses this fund for granting bonuses to native subordinates
incapacitated owing to illhealth and in urgent need of assistance.
The Malay football known as " Sepak Raga " was largely indulged
in, in the districts, when teams kicked a ball made of rattan, about
less than half the size of a leather football, in the air to each other
without touching it with any part of the body except the feet. It
is an exciting and interesting game giving good exercise, and
Colville took a team composed of Burmese, who excel at the game,
to England. Mr. J. P. Rodger, with his proverbial generosity,
gave a challenge shield for " soccer ". For this the Malay States.
Guides team, which included Capt. Talbot, also Graham and Adam,
played the Selangor Club and lost. In 1896 R. G. Watson
(Watty) was football Captain and did excellent work in the field
while his wind lasted ; and all who remember him will easily
understand this. Bellamy, Lott, Skinner, "Lanky" Scott,
Hampshire, Highet and Lake played regularly for the Club.
For Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee we sent Her Majesty
a beautiful Album of photographs from every part of Selangor.
On this occasion special sports on a large scale were held when
REPUTATION HAS BEEN
ESTABLISHED FOR 77 YEARS
1845 to 1922
KUALA LUMPUR PREMISES.
The Finest Store
In The F.M.S.
JOHN LITTLE & Co., Ltd.
(Incorporated in England.)
KUALA LUMPUR and SINGAPORE.
( 83 )
E. V. Carey beat Norman Grenier of Perak at the hundred
yards flat race, for whioli the yeteran planter received a great
Polo had then not started owing to the want of a suitable
grpund, though the Java ponies imported were about the heigiit
and build of a pony from tlie native State of Manipur near Assam,
the real home of polo. Tent pegging however was indulged in
quite often by Sir William Maxwell, Sir Frank Swettenham,
Captains Syers and Harry Talbot, Dr.-Travers, and Messrs.
Charleton Maxwell, and Lawder.
Billiard tables were established immediately the clubs were
started and the chief exponents of the indoor game were E. W.
Neubronn^, Tisbury, Venning, Roe, Swetteuharil, Severn, and
In concluding these modest chapters on old Selangor it is
hoped that they have brought to memory many old friends, old
enemies, old institutions, and old beginnings.
OHABLBS GBENIEE « SON, LTD., KUALA LUMPtJS.
CHOW KIT « CoiPUT, Ltd.
(Incopporgted In F.M.S.)
General Providers kuala lumpur.
Bicycles & Motor-cycles
Provisions, Wines & Spirits
Cigars & Cigarettes, Etc.
TAILORING & OUTFITTING.
We specialise in these Departments. - - - . . .
Visitors and Residents alike are assured of quick service at
all times. We have two cutters of many years' Eastern
experience, able to turn out Tropical clothing, equal to the
best West End of London styles, at prices which it is
impossible to better elsewhere. --.
A TRIAL IS SOLICITED. — -
Customers, living at a distance from our store, will find
this Department of real service to them. The bulk of the
worry attendant upon house-keeping in isolated places is
eliminated by dealing with us.
SILVER AND IN STOCK.
CASKETS, ADDRESS FRAMES, MEDALS AND ANYTHING AND
EVERYTHING OF METAL AND GEM WORKS
To Suit Your Own Price.
REGOLD & CO.,
JEWELLERS AND ENGRAVERS,
Batu Road, KUALA LUMPUR,
p. H. HENDRY,
Manufacturing Jeweller, Engraver & Watch Maker.
21, Malay Street, KUALA LUMPUR.
VULCAN CHEMICAL Co., Ltd.,
A HIGH GRADE DISINFECTANT WITH A PLEASANT
PINE ODOUR AND IS AN IDEAL FLUID FOR USE
IN HOSPITALS. COOLIE LINES, Etc., Etc.
Sole Agents for: —
FEDERATED MALAY STATES.
SIME, DARBY & Co., Ltd.,
Branche* at: —
SINGAPORE, MALACCA, PENANG, SEREMBAN, MUAR,
THE EASTERN UNITED ASSURANCE
(Incorporated in Straits Settlements.)
FIRE, MARINE and MOTOR CAR INSURANCE.
1. Prompt Settlements.
2. Moderate Premiums.
For further particulars, please apply :
KWONG YIK BANK BUILDINGS,
CENTRAL BAKERY & CONFECTIONERY
BATU ROAD, KUALA LUMPUR.
Wedding cakes a Speciality
Curry Puffs and Cakes
PATERSON, SIMONS & Co, Ltd,
(Incorporated in England.)
1/3, Old Market Square,
Hoes and Changkols
Dougalite Wood Preservative
McDougall's Sanitary Fluid
Red Hand Brand Paints
White Glazed Tiles
Patzenhofer Lager Beer
p. E. NEWMAN & Co
GARAGE: 145 Batu Road,
Electrical Engineers, and Contractors
Motor Car Repair Work of every
description undertaken. All work supervised
by experienced European Engineers.
CHAS. N. LEEMBRUQQEN.
Surveyor and Contractor
Detail Survey of Estates
Blocking out of jungle areas
Buildings of every description
Road making and Drains
Opening up and upkeep of Estates.
NO ADVANCES ASKED.
CH EAP RATES.
When buying HAM
Always ask for
obtainable at all stores
Singapore Cold Storage Co., Ltd.
WHERE EVERYBODY GOES. I
Batu Road, Kuala Lumpur, Phone S78
Malaya's Premier Picture Palace.
CLEANLINESS, COMFORT AND COURTESY
are all Attributes to be found here.
COLISEUM CAFE, & BUFFET.
(Next to Theatre.) 132, Batu Road.
Breaicfasts Dinners and Tiffins
The Dansants Every Wednesday at 6 P. M.
All Grades bought
daily, F. O. R.
Seller's Station, or
Terms: Spot Cash.
Hotels and Clubs
supplied with all
" ANDRE CITROEN CARS," -
COVENTRY EAGLE MOTOR CYCLES. »
" DURESCO " WASHABLE WATER PAINT
" PRIMAX" BELTING & H. P. JOINTING -
i'MINlMAX" FIRE EXTINGUISHERS
ISLEORNSAY WHISKEY -
GORDONS GIN - -
THE WORLD AUXILIARY INSURANCE
THE OCEAN ACCIDENT AND
GUARANTEE CORP., Ltd.
Fire, Motor Car
A superior, washable
water paint with an
capacity. Can be
Geo. BLUNN & Co, Ltd
INOOBPOEATED IN THE F.M.S.
64, 66, Klyne Street, KUALA LUMPUR.
H. BENJAMIN TALALU & CO.
3, Clarke Street,
Telegraphic Address "BENTAL" Telephone No. 544.
Codes Used: — A.B.C. 5th, Bentlsy's and Llebers.
GENERAL MERCHANTS IMPORTERS AND
MINING, ESTATE AND BUILDING REQUISITES.
THE FINEST DRAPERY
STORE IN THE F.M.S.
( I NCOR
AN & KLANG.